Patience: Why I Should Get Some

Yesterday I was checking out Facebook and apparently there is only 1 week left to get the early registration discount for the Runner’s World half marathon.  A friend of mine did the hat trick there last year (the 5k, 10k and half marathon) so of course I NEED to register.  Hmmm, it’s a week after Chicago which I’m already registered for and hoping to PR at?  Well, that’s probably okay, I can probably still do the hat trick as long as I do a whole lot of foam rolling that week and get a massage.

And then I was looking at spring marathons.  I’m signed up for and sitting out of Shamrock in 2 weeks because of my ankle.  Buuuuuuuuuuut I did all this training and I ran a 50k in February, so as long as I keep cross training until my ankle’s better, I can probably do a marathon in April or May.  And I probably don’t even need to reassess my goals!  I’m sure I can just start training where I left off and run as far and fast as I want to!  Plus it will be good training for the 50 miler I’m signed up for in June!  Yes, I think this is an amazing plan!  (Wow, that was a lot of exclamation marks!)

Ummmm… yeah.  And then I took a step away from the computer.  A funny thing happens when I start thinking about my running goals, I want to accomplish them all… RIGHT NOW.  Some of my current goals: break 3 hours in the marathon, break 19 in the 5k and finish a 50 miler.  Why is that I feel the need to try to achieve them all in the same month?  I am relatively young and healthy, I was not just given 6 months to live by my doctor, I have time.  I don’t need to pound my body into the pavement trying to do everything at once.  It kind of reminds me of this scene from When Harry Met Sally:

“When you realize you want to spend the rest of your life with somebody,
you want the rest of your life to start as soon as possible.”   I kind of feel like this about my running goals.  As soon as I commit to one, I want to achieve it as soon as possible.  But there are two problems with that mindset.  First, if I can accomplish all my goals within 6 months of making them, maybe I need bigger goals.  Second, trying to achieve too many goals at once will almost always lead me to injury.  Training to complete 50 miles and training to PR at a 5k take VERY different approaches.  Cramming it all in at the same time is counter productive.  I think what I need to do now, while I’m not running, is really assess my running goals.  I need to put them in order of importance to me, set both short and long term goals, and find a realistic training plan that can help me achieve them while staying injury free.  Hmmm, sounds simple, but is actually a pretty hard exercise for me.  I think it will really pay off in the long run though.

And now for a PSA.  If you happen to know you get really sweaty, it may not be the best idea to wear shorts that become transparent when working out at the gym.  I’m sorry to all the gym members who had to witness that this morning.

sweaty

(Yes that step is a little sweaty… don’t judge.)

Leave a Reply

