Unbalanced

I loved loved LOVED my personal training session yesterday.  I told Chris (that’s his real name, not Bob) I was probably his sweatiest client.  He politely laughed and said, “Nooooo…” in a way that makes me think I most definitely AM his sweatiest client.  One of the hardest things we did yesterday was single leg squats.  I tend to think that, as far as the muscles in my body go, my legs are really strong.  I run, I do lower body weights, occasionally I do some yoga, so I was feeling pretty good about myself.  And then I tried the single leg squat.  Nope, not strong.  Oh it burned!  I started out doing them with my right leg.  I struggled.  I wobbled.  My form was terrible but I got through them.  Then I did my left leg.  Holy cow!  They were easy!  Up down, up down, no wobbling.  Apparently my left leg is much stronger than my right.  That makes a lot of sense since it’s my right ankle that’s injured.  But this imbalance is probably older than the injury and possibly the cause of the ankle turn in the first place.  We did some moves on a stability pad which further showcased just how weak that right ankle is.   The upside of this?  I have a bunch of ankle strengthening exercises to do and my ankle feels better than it’s felt in a long time.  I’m starting to see the light at the end of this injury tunnel and now the challenge will be starting back up in a safe smart way.

My massage was also really good.  It hurt.  A lot.  Is it strange that I gauge the quality of a massage on the amount it hurts?  Horrific mind blowing pain = getting my money’s worth.  He focused mainly on my right side since that’s the one that’s giving me the most trouble.  During the session, I started having flashbacks to birthing class.  He would hit a really tender spot and I’d have to give myself a pep talk.  “Okay, Tara, deep breath, just breathe through it.  This is good, you love this!  This is going to…. OW OMG OW… make you feel better.”  I was exhausted at the end.  It’s pretty funny to think that lying on a table for an hour can make you exhausted but it really did.  I was in bed 8:15.

So yesterday was a good day.  And now for some mid week randomness.

blueberries

1. I am obsessed with blueberries.  Such tasty little berries.  They’re good on their own, good in oatmeal, good in yogurt.  They are just plain good.

Fresh-Beat-Band

2.  Sometimes I run to kids music.  Go ahead and judge but that Fresh Beat Band really knows their stuff.

Seriously, admit it, it makes you want to get up and get moving.  No?  Just me?  I’m okay with that.

3.  I have an unhealthy relationship with Diet Coke.  I’m trying for approximately the 4 billionth time to cut it out of my diet, or at least significantly reduce the amount I drink.  I didn’t have one yesterday.  Wow, yesterday really WAS a good day.

And lastly, a shoe pic because it’s been a while:

pink

Those shoes make me pretty happy.

Leave a Reply

