What I Learned From Finding Nemo

First up, I am sore.  That is a serious understatement.  Every muscle in my body hurts.  And I love it!  I feel more fit than I’ve ever felt.  I need to remember this feeling when I can run again.  Moving on…

Oh that Bruce.  The shark pledge: “I am a nice shark, not a mindless eating machine. If I am to change this image, I must first change myself. Fish are friends, not food.”  I’ve been thinking a lot about food lately.  Specifically, about how much time and energy I pour into working out to accomplish the goals I’ve set for myself.  I push hard.  I try to work out every day, sometimes twice a day.  I get a little compulsive about getting runs in and hitting splits.  And yet I have no problem sitting down and eating an entire bag of peanut butter m&m’s.  And not the little bags either.  As far as training goes, I know that workouts are only part of the equation.  There are many other parts.  There’s the importance of rest.  Knowing when that pain you feel is okay to run through or if your body is telling you it needs some down time.  And probably the biggest part after the actual workouts is nutrition.

eat

Nutrition has always been incredibly hard for me.  I like food.  I like drinks.  I like eating food while having drinks.  And I’m definitely guilty of emotional eating.  Unfortunately for me, I’m very emotional.  I’m happy!  I’m going to have ice cream.  I’m sad.  I’m going to have a box of cookies.  I’m anxious.  I’m going to eat a bag of chips.  I definitely have a portion control problem.  The motto go big or go home is not a good one to adopt when eating girl scout cookies.  I immediately undo all that work I just put in at the gym or on a run by eating too much of all the wrong foods.

If I were to rewrite Bruce’s pledge for me it would say, “I am a nice person, not a mindless eating machine. If I am to change this image, I must first change myself.  Food is fuel, not friend.”  Actually, I might print that out and put it on the fridge.  There are tons of books, articles, blogs etc. written about nutrition.  You can find tricks and tools to stop emotional eating, articles on what to eat and what time of day to eat it, the benefits of high protein or high carb diets for runners.  I’m not going to talk about any of that here.  For now, as far as diet goes, I’m just going to make an effort every day to treat my body right.  To be more conscious and less mindless in my food decisions and to deal with my emotions in a more productive way, like laundry or cleaning bathrooms.  My family will thank me.  I’ve also noticed in the past couple days as I’ve been trying to eat cleaner that I’m much happier.  That should be reason enough to choose snap peas over chips any day.  And they are super tasty, especially with hummus.  Try it, you’ll thank me.

Enough about food.  I saw this on Facebook and it seemed like the perfect thought for me right now.  So true!  And I’m ready to face another week of cross training.  YAY elliptical!

run

One Comment Add yours

  1. Sweatier girl says:

    I hate when you use pictures of me (from behind.) I’m jacked.

Leave a Reply

