Looking Ahead

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

irish1

If I ever run a race near St. Patrick’s day, I’m going to see if this outfit comes in my size.

So, apparently the cashier at Chick Fil A was right to be concerned about me and the Ebola virus.  Something nasty is going around my house and it hit us hard.  Brendan has been couch bound for a few days now.  Headache, fever, vomit, it’s not pretty.  After my late night Friday and early morning Saturday, I was ready for bed around 6:30 last night.  I rallied like a champ and made it until 9:15 when I passed out for the night.  I woke up this morning to bottles of children’s pain reliever and empty Nyquil wrappers on the counter.  (Wow, we really know how celebrate St. Patrick’s day right!)  Apparently, Ebola claimed another victim or two last night after I fell asleep.  I’m just keeping my fingers crossed that I can avoid it and that we’re all healthy by the end of the week. We have very fun plans for spring break that I don’t want to miss!

Still working on staying motivated.  After my little freak out in front of Dunkin Donuts yesterday, I realized I’m really going to have to step it up this week if I want to stay out of wallow city.  I also decided that I’m going back to the doctor.  I think that there’s something else going on with my ankle and I’d rather figure it out sooner than later.  The sooner we figure this out, the sooner I can get back to the trails.  So, that’s good.

On Tuesday, I go back for Round Two with Chris (Bob).  I’m excited and scared to see what he has in store for me this week.  Wednesday I’m heading to Bikram yoga with a couple of friends.  This could be really good or REALLY bad.  Why would someone who hates heat with a passion voluntarily work out in a room heated to 105 degrees?  Actually, I have no idea.  It’s a strange feeling.  I’m really looking forward to and dreading it at the same time.

yoga1

I’m sure this is exactly what I’ll look like.

Interesting Bikram facts:

  • The heated room provides a unique environment that enables enhanced flexibility and reduces the risk of injury. Your body will get warm very quickly so it is safe to stretch to your maximum potential. The heated room will help you progress quickly as you develop your yoga practice.
  • The heat will help you release toxins and make your skin look absolutely beautiful.
  • After class, you might get really hungry or you might lose your appetite altogether.  Both reactions are known to happen.  Once you get into a regular practice pattern, your appetite will normalize.  Soon you’ll find yourself feeling and looking leaner and younger.

Wait, it’s going to make me beautiful, leaner and younger?  Well then, sign me up!  I wonder if they have a money back guarantee.

Hopefully the class isn’t too crowded and I can find a little corner away from everyone else.  If not, I apologize in advance to whoever is near me and my river of sweat.  Luckily, no cell phones are allowed in the studio so there will be no photographic evidence.

Gonna spend a little quality time this morning with Tony (Horton).  We’re on a first name basis.  Then heading to a party this afternoon.  Life is good.  Well except for that whole Ebola thing.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Jes says:

    Interesting that you have something going on in your house. We are on 7 days of it going through our house – one at a time. Been lots of fun!

Leave a Reply

