Birthdays and Race Plans

First and most importantly…

birthday

Today is Lawrence’s 33rd birthday!  Happy Birthday to the man who puts up with all this crazy! 😉  I hope this year is your best year yet!  We had a fun night out last night with my sister and brother-in-law to celebrate.  It’s hard to believe that the first birthday he celebrated after we started dating was his 17th!!!  As cliche as it is, time really has flown.

I’m having trouble figuring out exactly how I’m feeling right now.  On the one hand, it’s good to finally have an answer to my foot issues.  Knowing what I’m dealing with, how to treat it, a basic timeline for coming back to running, all make it a little easier to handle.  Even though I’m the least type a person around, it’s nice to have a plan.  On the other hand, having to sit out the entire spring is a little hard to deal with.  And even though the doctor said the bones and tendons in my ankle look good, it’s still bothering me.  Way more than my heel ever did, so that concerns me a little.  I’m just a ball of conflicted emotions right now.  Happy that it’s not any worse than it is, sad that it happened in the first place.  Happy to hear about everyone’s racing accomplishments, sad that I don’t have any of my own to share.  Happy that we found a Dunkin Donuts in Pittsburgh yesterday… okay, that just makes me happy.

The best way to get over the fact that you wasted a bunch of money on race entry fees for races you won’t be able to run is, of course, to spend more money on race entry fees for races further away.  Yes, of course it is.  And my fall schedule is really shaping up to be awesome.  I was fortunate to get into Chicago when registration opened.  Well an hour and a half after registration opened anyway.  Holy cow that was a crazy registration process.

“I remember when the hardest part of being a marathoner was running 26.2. Today the hardest part is getting thru the marathon entry process.” – Bart Yasso

I totally agree, Bart.  In any case, I’m in for Chicago and it’s my goal race for the fall.  I’m going to shoot for 3 hours there.  That’s scary to even think about.  In fact, I can’t even quite wrap my head around it.  It really wasn’t that long ago that I couldn’t hold that pace for a 5k and now I want to run it for 26.2 miles??  But I guess that’s how you know it’s a good goal.  It makes you feel a little bit scared and a little bit nauseous.  I like it.  It’s aggressive but still in the realm of possibility.  It’s the type of goal I have to be all-in for.  I have to fully commit to.  It’s fast enough for me that I can’t sort of want it and kind of train for it.  It will keep me motivated and focused through the long hot humid sweaty days of summer.  I also recruited a training partner for it.  I train so much better with someone by my side, so I’m excited to have a partner lined up for some of the long runs and speed sessions.  So basically, that’s Chicago.  I have goals.  I’m excited.  It’s gonna be good.

Yesterday I registered for the Marine Corps marathon.  I’m equally as excited about this race for totally different reasons.  First, I’m running it with a group of friends and we’re raising money for Inheritance of Hope.  I’ve never run for a charity before and we’re raising money for such a great cause, so that’s exciting in and of itself.  But what makes this race SUPER exciting is that it’ll be the first marathon for a few of my friends AND I get to pace a few to their first Boston qualifier!  Could it get any better???  I love to pace.  Well, technically, I’ve only done it once but it was such an amazing experience.  To be running by the side of a friend while they accomplish their goals is unforgettable.  Even when they tell you they hate you and want to punch you in the face around mile 23.  True story.

Although I haven’t actually registered yet, I think I’m also going to do the Richmond half marathon.  I did the full last year and it was such a great race, possibly my favorite marathon to date.  Technically, I set my marathon pr there, but that’s only part of the reason that I liked the race so much.  It was just one of those days where everything comes together.  My goal for the fall had been to qualify for Boston which I did at Marine Corps two weeks earlier, so going into Richmond I was totally relaxed.  I met a ton of people on the course, I interacted with the spectators, I took the time to look around and really enjoy the whole experience.  So.Much.Fun.  Logistically, it’s just an easy race to do.  Getting into and out of DC for MCM can be such a nightmare.  Richmond’s a piece of cake which is always a bonus.

So those are the races I have lined up so far for the fall.  I’m excited.  I’m nervous.  I’m impatient.  Good stuff.  Setting goals and having races to look forward to make doing all the cross training now a little easier.  I can see exactly why it’s necessary and what I’m working toward.

ella

This morning I asked my 5 year old niece, Ella, where she came from.  Her answer?  A dog kennel.  Oh I love 5 year olds!

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Katy says:

    Hooray — I was referenced in a blog!! I feel famous! :o)

  2. Hahaha! Marine Corps ’09 is one of my favorite races! And thank you for not actually punching me. 😉

  3. Katy says:

    I’ll be out there with all of you this year, too! And running with my big brother, which is extra-super-awesome-cool!

Leave a Reply

