Spring Break Recap and Appreciation

We could not possibly have had a better spring break.  We had so much fun visiting with everyone.  As we were packing up yesterday, Ella (the cute puppy from this post) asked if we were leaving.  I said yes and she said, “But I don’t want you to go!”  And neither did I!  Visiting with Alice and her family is so fun because it’s so easy.  We all just get along without any effort or awkwardness… well mostly no awkwardness, we’re both slightly awkward so a little can’t be helped.  She deals with six people descending on her home better than anyone I know.  And it helps that our kids are the same ages and they all get along most of the time.  It’s pretty impressive since we’re talking about 9 kids between the two of us!

Some highlights:

DSC_0583DSC_0591

The kids enjoyed what will hopefully be the last opportunity to sled this winter/spring.

DSC_0714DSC_0751

On the left, Chris and Mia were REALLY excited about skating.  That might be my favorite picture from our trip.  On the right, all the kids minus the stinker who decided he HATES skating.

bigjimsbigjims1

We are big fans of the show Diners, Drive-Ins, and Dives on Food Network.  So we decided to head into Pittsburgh and try out Big Jim’s.  It definitely fell into the dive category.  Our waitress was super sweet and we enjoyed it but agreed that the food was only okay.  On the way out of Pittsburgh, we found this:

dd1

I’m beginning to think I have a problem.

uspresent

We also went out for Lawrence’s birthday.  Madeleine and Brendan babysat so the four adults could go out.  It was great!  Lawrence is holding up his present from Alice and Chris wrapped in Birthday Girl paper… they have 5 girls.  🙂

As much fun as we had, it’s always good to get back home again.  I headed to the gym this morning and took a really tough spin class.  The instructor is great and as hard as it was, the hour flew by.  She was just very motivating which was awesome.  I totally needed that today after too much food and too many drinks on vacation.  I followed it up with the same circuit I did with my trainer last Tuesday.  As I was finishing up my workout, another trainer came up who had been working with a client nearby.  She said they were talking about how impressed they were with what I was doing.  I laughed and thanked her.  As she walked away, I realized how much I appreciated her coming up and telling me that.  A little positive reinforcement can be a powerful thing!  The reality is that I was struggling to get through that workout.  I considered cutting it short several times.  But I’m glad I didn’t.  It makes me want to run around the gym telling people that they’re awesome and to keep it up!  Would that be creepy?

Tomorrow morning I head back for round two of Bikram.  Can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

