The Hardest Part of Injury Recovery

A couple of week ago, I might’ve said that the hardest part of dealing with an injury is knowing that something isn’t right but not knowing exactly what’s wrong.  But I don’t think that’s true.  I think the hardest part is when things start to feel normal again.  There was a period when I wondered if my foot would ever feel right again.  Of course, I  knew it would, but a few weeks of cross training in with weeks of no running ahead of me, it felt like it would hurt forever.  Here I am now, 6 weeks in and my foot is starting to feel back to it’s old self.  So much so that it’s sooooooooooooo incredibly tempting to lace up my shoes and head out.  Just one slow mile.  Just to test it out.  I’ll stop if anything hurts.  I promise!

But I’m going to force my spastic self to keep up the cross training for now.  I know that running at this point wouldn’t be beneficial and can only hurt me.  But, good grief it’s hard to wait!  Especially with a few races on the horizon.  At the end of April I’m signed up for the DC Nike Women’s half and I plan to do that race even if I have to walk most of it.  And then a tiny part of me still wants to attempt the 50 miler.  I KNOW!  I said I wasn’t going to do it.  But a little part of me is still holding out hope for it.  I was planning on just dropping down to a shorter distance but I kind of just want to start the 50 miler and see what I can do.  Crazy?  Probably.  But there you have it.  Luckily the weather hasn’t been cooperating too much.  Not sure where spring is, it’s still cold and windy.  It’s easier to go to the gym when it’s cold than when it’s gorgeous out.  And for whatever reason, the treadmill isn’t too hard for me to pass up.

So I’m resigned to no running for a little while longer.  Monday I did a spin class followed by a body pump class.  It was the hardest spin class I’ve done so far.  I felt nauseous and thought I might actually throw up.  The puddle around my bike was ridiculous.  We did a ton of sprint intervals and they were HARD.  So that was fun.  I stuck around for body pump and my legs were toast.  I really wonder how all of this will affect my running.  I know it will be hard to start back up.  I know I lost a lot of my endurance.  It’s hard to mimic a long run in the gym.  I just can’t elliptical for that long.  But I’m much stronger than I was.  That’s gotta be good for something, right?  Hope so.

I did bikram Tuesday night.  Unfortunately it didn’t go any better than it went Saturday morning.  I’m really beginning to think that bikram just isn’t for me.  As I was walking out some of the regulars were commenting on how hard the class was and that the room was really humid, so maybe that was it.  It made me feel a little better that I wasn’t the only one having trouble.  I wonder if I’d do better if I tried drinking something aside from water.  I might toss a NUUN in my water bottle if I go back again.  I’m still on the fence about it though.  It was seriously a suffer-fest the last two times I’ve been which doesn’t really make me want to keep doing it.  On the other hand, I would think it’s acclimating me the approaching summer misery.  Maybe running in the humidity won’t feel so awful after going through that.  One can hope.

Okay, so  I wrote this post yesterday but never got around to posting it.  And the funny thing is that of course after I wrote that my foot was feeling great, it ached all day.  Two steps forward, one step back.  I was on my feet a lot yesterday at work so it’s not totally surprising but still frustrating.  Luckily, I’m meeting one of my running friends this morning to walk.  That’s the sign of a true friend.  They sacrifice their morning run to walk with you.  I need to buy her a coffee or something.  Spending some quality time with friends is always a good way to get out of a funk.  Today marks 6 weeks of no running.  Getting there, slowly but surely!

Leave a Reply

