Gratitude

window

Well, the weekend was going pretty awesome.  On Saturday, I had a good day at work, an awesome run and a really fun date with Lawrence.  Sunday was busy with spin, church, soccer games and some spring cleaning.  And then last night happened.  We picked up the kids from CCD and headed downtown to see the cherry blossoms and go out to dinner.  We brought the big camera to hopefully get some good pictures.  Not thinking, we left it in the car when we went to grab dinner.  When we got back to the car, the passenger window was smashed and the camera along with 3 lenses, memory cards, filters, and whatever else was in the camera bag was gone.  The broken window was annoying but I was heart broken over the camera.

We called our insurance who told us we should file a police report, so we waited on the streets of DC for an officer to show up.  After about 30 minutes, we were on our way home with very heavy hearts.  Not the end to the weekend we were hoping for.

After feeling sorry for myself last night, I woke up with a new perspective.  The reality is, in the scheme of life, this is small beans.  In fact, if this is the worst thing to happen to us this year, it’ll be a pretty good year.  While we will need to have a little body work done where they bent the window frame, the window is now fixed and looking good.  While they were replacing the glass, I was reflecting on how I need to start a gratitude journal.  My sister has been encouraging me to do it for a while now and I’ve just never gotten around to it.  I think today is the day to start.  That way, I can not only focus on the good in my life, but have a written record of all the things that I’m thankful for.  And on days when I’m feeling low and sorry for myself, I can look back at all the blessings in my life.

So today, I am thankful.  I am thankful that no one was hurt.  A camera is easily replaced, my family is irreplaceable.  I’m thankful that we have insurance.  The car is fixed and the camera is being replaced with only a little out of pocket cost to us.  I’m thankful that I have a strong and healthy body.  While I’d love to be running again, I’m thankful to have the ability to go to spin class and sweat out my irritation this morning.

And a little story.  The guy on the bike next to me kept glancing over during class.  I just kind of smiled and focused on my ride.  After the class he came up and said, “I’m really impressed, I didn’t think it was possible for a human body to produce that much sweat.”  I admit it, the puddle around my bike was seriously impressive this morning.  Come on!  I had a rough night and needed to work out some aggression.  Anyway, I smiled and thanked him for noticing. 😉  The joys of being the sweatiest person ever.

Leave a Reply

