Bad Decisions

Last night was the first Wednesday night group run that I’ve gone to since I was cleared to run again.  We meet at the running store and do between 4 and 6 miles depending on the day.  After we run, we come back to the store, have a drink and hang out.   I started coming to the runs about a year ago and really, I consider that the beginning of my running journey.  I mean, I ran before a year ago but not the same way I run now, with passion and love for it.  In some ways it feels like that was forever ago and in others like it was just yesterday.  It’s been an interesting road and deserves its own post.  In any case, I was very excited to be back at running group.  In fact, I may have been a little too excited.  An important point to note: just because you are cleared to run does not mean you should run like a bat out of hell.  BRILLIANT!

stripey

This is a random picture from the fall of me trying on a very stripey running outfit.  It really has nothing to do with running group at all.  But I couldn’t find a picture of that, so there you go.

Anyway, last night we had a fun group of people and one of the biggest turn outs that we’ve had lately.  What I SHOULD have done is run at an easy pace and just enjoyed being able to be back out there.  What I DID do was run with my usual group… which consists of some very fast dudes.  They slowed down for me, one was recovering from running Boston two days before, but were still running way faster than I should be running right now.  We did 4.5 miles and my splits were: 8:24, 8:08, 7:58, 7:40, 3:38.  Now back in January, that would’ve been an easy run for me.  And actually, cardio-wise I felt really good.  All that cross training I did paid off!  But my foot was hurting.  The faster we went, the more it hurt.  At the end, I just wanted to get back to the store as quickly as possible rather than prolong the pain.  I spent the rest of the night limping around and am paying for that bad decision today as well.

Since my goal is to actually heal, I’m not sure what possessed me to do that.  Hopefully lesson learned.  I will be taking the next couple days off to give my tendon time to calm down so I can run the Boston memorial run the running store is sponsoring on Sunday.  I use the term “run” loosely.  I will be taking it super slow, super easy, and super careful.  Wow, that was a lot of supers.  I need to stay focused on the big picture and not get so caught up in one run.  The question should always be, is this run helping me or keeping me from reaching my goal of getting back to healthy running?  Last night was definitely not helpful.  Well the run part anyway.  The hanging out part after the run was definitely good for me.  It’s such a fun, laid back, quirky, random group.  I love it!

Surprisingly, I’m actually excited to take tomorrow off and get back to spinning.  Friday is my favorite spin class, so there’s the silver lining.  In the meantime there has been a lot of icing/heating/ibuprofen-ing going on over here.  Oh and compression-ing.  Can’t forget the compression socks.  We took a walk after dinner tonight and I was wearing my hot pink 2xu compression socks.  A guy was walking towards us wearing hot pink soccer socks.  He stopped me, said he liked my socks and had to give me a high five.  It was pretty funny… and slightly awkward… but mostly funny.

Leave a Reply

