Busy days and a lot of pictures

First off, I thought this was really funny especially since I posted similar feelings the other day.

“4. Injuries will come and go – If you’ve been running long enough, you’ve probably been injured at some point. Understand that this is temporary. Rest, recover, follow doctor’s orders. You will run again, just not now. Read THIS POST and THIS POST to help you cope when you are spiraling down into the deep dark place of wanting to punch every runner you see.”

HA!  I told you I wasn’t the only one!  Yep, we really are a crazy bunch.

The last few days have been beautiful, busy and fun!  Sean and I had a great time Thursday.  First stop Chick Fil A.

sean8

That kid sure loves his CFA.

Then we headed over to see the trucks.

sean1sean3

We couldn’t have asked for a more gorgeous day.  And I can’t say enough good things about the people who were running the event.  Everyone was so nice, friendly, and helpful.  Plus it was all free!  Awesome.

sean2sean6

And a couple more pictures because I just can’t help myself…

sean4sean7

He definitely knows how to pose.

Friday I worked at the running store in the morning and met a good friend for coffee in the afternoon.  We met at a park and Sean played while we chatted.  The day was beautiful and she has this amazing ability to always tell me exactly what I need to hear when I need to hear it…. not always what I WANT to hear, but always what I need.  Talking to her soothes my soul.  Every time I see her, I leave feeling calmer, happier, more peaceful.  Seriously, everyone needs a friend like that.  I hope to BE that kind of friend one day.  I have a long way to go.

Friday night we headed to Costco to pick up supplies for Ryan’s first communion.  Two Costco trips in one week??  We’re living on the wild side!

Today, we lucked out with another completely gorgeous morning for the first communion.

ryan3ryan1

Ryan with his godparents, my brother and sister-in-law.

ryan4ryan2

3 of my kids with 2 of their 25 cousins.  Getting 5 kids to look at the camera and smile at the same time is a challenge.  But I think in the long run, these kinds of pictures are better anyway.  You can really see how much fun they have together.  After the first communion, everyone headed back to our house for lunch and brownie sundaes.

After everyone headed out, I was able to sneak away for an hour to meet a friend for my first mountain bike ride ever.  I  can’t remember the last time I was on an actual bike (not the spin kind) before today, 10 years ago?  I don’t even own a bike, he had to bring one for me to use.  Holy cow!  It was awesome!!  I think I was grinning from ear to ear the entire ride… which was unfortunate when we rode through all the gnats, they did not taste good.  We didn’t have a ton of time, so we only did 9 miles and then finished up with some push ups and squats.  Great little workout and enough to get me really excited about biking.  We’re meeting up this week to do a 20ish mile ride.  Can’t wait!  The last couple of days I’ve been taking it pretty easy exercise wise.  I took yesterday completely off and just a short ride today.  I’m really going to try to enjoy the things I CAN do instead of focusing on what I can’t.  And I REALLY loved mountain biking.

I don’t think we have anything on the schedule for tomorrow but since it’s cinco de mayo, I think some margaritas may be necessary.

Hope you’re having a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

