Squirrels are dumb

Yesterday couldn’t have been more perfect.  I met my friends at the lake and chatted for a few minutes before getting on the bike for a loop (each loop is 4.5 miles).  I’ve found that my ankle usually feels better after I bike, so I wanted to warm it up before I tried running on it.  Actually before I got on the bike I did 5 million squats (or 40) and that was fun.  Got back to the car, grabbed some water and started the run.  My ankle felt pretty good.  The rest of me?  Holy cow.  I felt so out of shape.  We weren’t breaking any land speed records or anything but it felt hard.  We stopped at some of the stations on the fitness course set up around the lake and did dips and pull ups.  Half of me was feeling pretty sorry for myself since a run that would’ve been so easy 6 months ago was so hard yesterday, the other half of me was just so so SO happy to be out there.  We finished the run, did 2 more loops on the bike, did 5 million more squats (100) and called it a day.  This morning my booty is super sore from all those squats.  I may not be able to walk tomorrow.

OH and I managed the hit a squirrel on the bike.  That was special.  I never even saw the stupid thing.  I actually didn’t run over it, it darted between my tires and I whacked it with my pedal.  I’m glad I didn’t see it because had it run in front of me, there’s a very good chance I would’ve swerved and fallen off my bike or run into a tree.  As it was, I almost ran into a tree.  Hmmm… maybe I should just stay away from bikes of all kinds, I’m kind of a menace.

After I picked up Sean from school, we headed back to Costco because I decided I needed a pineapple STAT.  I don’t know why.  It’s still sitting uncut on my counter.  But at 1:00 yesterday afternoon, I had to have a Costco pineapple and now I do.  Yay me!

Lawrence went to check out bikes last night.  We’re still on the fence about what kind to buy.  It’s funny, I had zero fear of motorcycles before the class, now I’m a little LOT more nervous about them.  What I thought I wanted before the class and what I want now are definitely not the same.  I thought I wanted a super speedy cute looking sport bike.  Something like this:

honda

Now that I’ve ridden (and fallen off of) a bike, I think I want something a little more like this:

powerwheels

Either way I’m ready to ride something because my helmet came yesterday!  It is very cute.  And very pink.  The best thing about our new hobby?  A whole new world of accessories to check out.  Yes.  I have a problem.

Heading to the lake for some run/walking this morning.  So happy to be outside two days in a row! 🙂

Leave a Reply

