Today’s the day!

Pineapple Update (for my sister):  It’s still sitting on my counter taunting me.  Maybe today I’ll actually cut it up.

Yesterday, I met my friend at the lake for some run/walking.  It was HOT.  I was a puddle by the end.  At one point did I say that I can’t wait for summer?  Hmmmm.  Actually, aside from all the sweatiness, it was the perfect workout.  I was still super sore from all those squats and my ankle was a little more sore than normal, so keeping it relaxed was the way to go.  Thursdays at the lake are like therapy to me.  Therapy for my ankle.  Therapy for my soul.  Therapy Thursday, I like that.  There’s something about the conversations you have while running.  They aren’t the same as the ones you have over coffee.  We were talking about that yesterday.  Why is that?  Possibly because when you’re running, you’re not looking at the other person?  Or because of the endorphins released when running?  I don’t know, but quite a few times I’ve finished a run and thought, did I really just say that?  As a result, the relationships I’ve made through running are some of my closest.

After the run, I headed home for some ankle icing.  It used to be that running was pretty simple: me, a pair of running shoes and the ground.  Now it involves, ice packs, heating pads, foam rollers, The Stick, compression gear, Icy Hot, Advil, etc. etc. etc.  I’m a mess.  Hopefully one day it will be simple again.  Lawrence was working from home, so after I finished up icing we took Sean to Cafe Rio for lunch.  I think they put crack in their dressing, it’s that good.

I worked yesterday afternoon and found out the guy I was working with was selling his bike.  This bike:

lawrencemotorcycle

After checking it out and talking about it, we’re buying it this morning!  Ummm…. what?!  Are we really doing this??  I’m kind of in shock.  Lawrence and I aren’t really the kind of people who decide to do things and then do them right away.  Usually there is a lot of discussion, research, and procrastination involved.  I think I’m excited… in a holy crap we are out of minds sort of way.  I got on it yesterday and couldn’t stand it up without help.  I’m almost positive if it had been on pavement and not gravel that I wouldn’t have had a problem but it’s definitely a lot heavier than the little bikes we were riding in our class.  Am I ready for this?  Yes!  I think I am!

I heard Standing Outside the Fire by Garth Brooks in the car yesterday.  I haven’t heard that song in years.  It seems appropriate for this season of life I’m in.  Great song, go listen!

“But you’ve got to be tough when consumed by desire
‘Cause it’s not enough just to stand outside the fire….

There’s this love that is burning
Deep in my soul
Constantly yearning to get out of control
Wanting to fly higher and higher
I can’t abide
Standing outside the fire

Standing outside the fire
Standing outside the fire
Life is not tried, it is merely survived
If you’re standing outside the fire

I’m scared.  I’m excited.  I’m alive!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Alice says:

    Hmmm….I am praying hard that that fire is not caused by a motorcycle crash 🙂 But I think it may be my job to worry so you don’t have to 🙂 Aren’t you lucky? XO

  2. Jess says:

    Little behind in my reading but therapy Thursday…I like that name. I agree! It’s therapy for me too!!

Leave a Reply

