How not to dress for a run

I made a serious tactical error dressing for my run on Saturday.  I was freezing all afternoon.  I actually considered putting on winter tights for a minute, I was that cold.  But since the temperature outside was 60, I figured winter tights were probably overkill.  Being the sweatiest person ever, I always need to dress lighter than normal people.  So why I decided to put on heavy capris and a long sleeve shirt to run in 60 degree weather is beyond me.  I started running and thought, hmmm, it’s really not cold out…. in fact, it’s pretty warm….. and kind of humid…. hmmm…. I’m sweating…. wait, how long have I been running…. oh, 32 seconds, fabulous.  So yeah, that was fun.  I got home and did a little push up/dip/squat action and felt like I might die.  Guess I was still tired and sore from riding the bike the night before.

After I took a shower and made myself presentable, we met friends for dinner in Alexandria.  I know I’ve said it before but I just have to say it again, I love Old Town.  I love everything about it.  We had such a great time at dinner.  Good food.  Good drinks.  Great company.  So fun!  We’d been to the restaurant a few times but had never been been on their second floor before.  We checked it out on Saturday and they have tables with porch swings up there.  Seriously?  Next time I’m reserving one of those.  I’m torn on whether it’s a good idea or would make me motion sick while I’m trying to eat my dinner.  I’ll find out and report back.

Sunday morning I got up and went for another run before work.  This time I dressed more weather appropriate, thankfully, because it was about 99.9% humidity.  It was 4 miles of misery.  Did I really run 33 miles in February?  I had to take a walk break in my 4 miler yesterday.  Frustration.  I always run worse in humidity so it’s not surprising, but it doesn’t stop me from thinking about how I WAS running 6 months ago and where I am now.  Those thoughts are killers and I need to get them out of my head.  All that matters is where I am now and that I’m doing the best I can at this point in time.  But when I’m 2 miles into a run and already feel done, it’s hard not to feel super sorry for myself.  Of course, that’s not going to help me get through it any better.  Just need to suck it up and keep going.

After running 2 days in a row, I’m heading back to my spin and strength classes this morning.  It’s pretty gloomy and wet out today, so I’m happy to get out of the humidity and into the air conditioned gym.  Now that’s looking at the bright side!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Claire says:

    You were sweaty – no way?! I hope your gym was cooler than mine this morning – it felt more humid inside than out to me. I’m glad you were able to do two days of running!

    1. I know, shocking, right?! 😉 My gym was pretty comfortable, of course there was still a puddle around my bike, but such is my life. 🙂

Leave a Reply

