Confidence needed

Spin class was a serious sweaty struggle yesterday.  At the end I just felt frustrated and defeated.  It felt much harder than it should have.  That coming off of Sunday’s run where I had to walk, what on earth is going on?  Even though I haven’t been doing a ton of running, it’s not like I’ve been sitting around doing nothing, so I wasn’t sure why I was feeling so off and out of shape.  I texted Lawrence:

Me: Holy cow, spin was way harder than it should’ve been.  My run yesterday was too.  I don’t know what’s going on with me but I’m getting really frustrated.

Lawrence: Probably that virus… I almost died in pt last time.

THAT made me feel a lot better.  We’ve been sick for a little over a week but it’s one of those things I’ve just worked out through.  I’m feeling a lot better than I did last week, so it didn’t occur to me that it could be causing the off feeling I’m having.  I’m going to go ahead and chalk it up to that and hope for things to feel better in the next few days.

Some bike news (Alice, please stop reading now.)  I rode the bike to work on Sunday.  After work, I decided to ride around a little bit.  I’m pretty comfortable on it for the most part but sharp turns are still a challenge.  SO, I needed to make a u turn to get home again and pulled into a turn lane.  I had both feet down and was completely stopped.  I started to turn the bike, let it lean too far and totally dropped it.  UGH.  Luckily I was fine (embarrassed but fine) and the bike was fine.  A guy pulled over immediately and asked if I was okay and helped me pick it up again.  Lesson of the day: motorcycles are heavy.

The real issue with this fall is what it’s done to my confidence.  I called Lawrence and made him ride the bike home because I was too shaky to get back on.  Yesterday I was going to ride back up to the high school to practice in the parking lot but wasn’t comfortable leaving the neighborhood.  Shockingly, I’m totally over thinking everything.  So back to square one.  I think the important thing for me is just to keep getting back on the bike.  I can’t let the fear keep me from learning how to ride the thing.  I watched this video yesterday and it’s kind of amazing the things you can do on a bike.

We’re going to set up some cones and try to replicate that next week.  I think it’ll go well.

This morning we’re heading back to the dentist AGAIN, poor Sean.  After that, we’re off to the lake to meet up with a friend for some run/walking.  I’m thinking it might also be time to get back to yoga.  It’s been a couple weeks since I’ve done it and I think my right hip/hamstring/whole freaking leg would really appreciate it.  And just to clarify, I mean regular yoga.  I’ve come to the conclusion that bikram isn’t for me (I’m sure this comes as a huge surprise to no one).  I really tried to like it but I’m way too sweaty for that kind of thing.  Tuesday also means neighborhood cookout tonight.  Hopefully I can redeem myself in cornhole.

Happy Tuesday!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Alice says:

    Need more Body Pump! 🙂

    1. Actually, I did do a strength class after spin yesterday. Not exactly the same as body pump but similar. That felt much better than the spin class did. 🙂

Leave a Reply

