Cornhole Redemption! oh and a couple of good runs

Yesterday was a great day!  I’m not a huge fan of the current hot humid weather but I managed 2 runs yesterday!  I met my friend at the lake for our usual Tuesday run/walk.  I wish I had taken some pictures.  We stopped at one point because there were about 100 teeny tiny toads hopping across the path.  When we first saw them, we thought they were bugs.  The boys got a kick out of that… okay and so did I.  There’s just something about tiny versions of regular things that is so stinking cute.

toad

Not my picture but that’s how big they were.  Cute, no?

I thought about doing yoga in the afternoon but I just wasn’t feeling it.  I usually do the P90X yoga which I really like it but it takes an hour and a half and I just didn’t have that kind of time yesterday.  So instead, I headed out for a run around the lake by my house.  It’s only 2 miles around and I was so tempted to do 2 loops for 8.5 miles for the day, but I stopped after only 2 miles because I knew I wanted to run today too, so I didn’t want to completely over do it.  6.5 miles for the day still makes me pretty happy.  It’s been months since I’ve done anything over 4.5.

Last night, we had another fun night at the neighborhood cookout.  Tuesday is becoming my favorite day of the week.  It’s great not to have to worry about cooking dinner or cleaning up afterwards one night a week.  The kids love it because they get to run wild with their friends.  They pulled out the slip and slide last night, it was a huge hit with all the kids.  Sean asked me no less than 10 times yesterday if it was time to go to the cookout yet.  And on top of all that, it’s great to get out and actually connect with our neighbors.  I challenged my friend to a game of cornhole and squeaked by with a win even though we were both pretty bad.  But a win’s a win, so now I’m 1-1.

I downloaded a bunch of music yesterday because the month of concerts kicks off this weekend with Kenny Chesney.  I’m excited because I like Kenny Chesney but also, each concert we’re going to, I like the performer more and more.  Next up is Tim McGraw and then Zac Brown.  I CAN.NOT.WAIT to see Zac Brown.  Also, the pool opens this weekend!  How did that happen???  It means the craziness of summer swim team will soon be upon us.  I’m ready though.  Summer swim meets, cook outs, happy hours, sweaty sweaty runs… bring it on!

Off to spinning.  Have a great Wednesday!

Leave a Reply

