My two favorite things: Smores and Running

This morning came early.  It’s one of those days where I wake up thinking that I really need a weekend to recover from my weekend.  I think that just means that I’m not as young as I once was. 😉  Sunday night we headed down to the end of our street to a cookout/camp out.  Our one neighbor is the neighborhood social coordinator/party planner.  Every neighborhood needs one.  He’s the one who organizes the Tuesday night happy hour/pot lucks which are such a fun idea.  They grilled up some steaks while the kids cooked hot dogs over the fire.

campfire

No cookout would be complete without smores.  They are one of my favorite things ever.  Tasty, melty, sticky goodness.  After we got the kids sufficiently sugared up, we settled them in for the night while the adults hung out for a while by the fire.

The aftermath the next morning: shoes, clothes and toys scattered everywhere.

tent

I had to work yesterday morning for a few hours and then headed out to the Manassas battlefields for a run.  The last time I was out there it looked like this:

battlefields

That feels like forever ago.  I accidentally left my phone in the car so I didn’t get any pictures on the run which is too bad because it was gorgeous out yesterday.  It was also very loud.  The cicadas were out in force.  There’s just something about the trails that makes me happy.  I met up with a friend and we did 6 miles.  I definitely prefer to run with company.  Occasionally I like to run alone, if I need to work through something in my head, but mostly I like to run with someone else.  We don’t even have to be talking (although I do my fair share of that), I just like running next to someone.  It makes the run go faster.  Also, I’m much less likely to stop and walk when I’m with someone else.  That’s not to say that it doesn’t happen, it does, but I push myself a little harder when there’s someone else there to witness my wimpiness.  It was the best run I’ve had in a while.  It wasn’t particularly fast, but faster than I’ve been running.  My foot is sore this morning but that’s pretty much par for the course these days.

After the run, I headed home to shower and we took the kids to the pool.  It’s just one of those things.  You have to go to the pool opening weekend regardless of the temperature.  It was cold.  I was in a jacket.  The kids lasted a few minutes in the pool and then ended up in the showers for 15 minutes.  Then it started raining.  Lovely.  We packed up and headed home but at least we can say we made it!

I was still pretty excited about the run last night, so I turned on my Garmin to check out my splits.  And then I made a big mistake.  I decided to scroll back through and check out runs from January.  BAD IDEA.  I went from feeling great about to my slow 6 miler to being incredibly frustrated and sad about how far I am now from where I was.  Will I ever get back to those runs again?  And then I went to bed because it’s pointless to think about.  I’ll get there… eventually.

Leave a Reply

