Busy Days

I love Tuesdays and it was a busy one.  I had a doctor’s appointment at 10 but still managed to squeeze in 30 minutes on the elliptical before my noon strength class.  It was a tough one.  I’ve been really struggling with motivation lately and I can tell that’s the case by how hard all my workouts are feeling these days.  It’s a vicious cycle for me.  The harder my workouts feel, the more frustrated I get and the less I want to work out which of course makes all my workouts feel harder since I’m getting more and more out of shape.  GRRRR.  Plus any semblance of clean eating has been totally thrown out the window.  I’m thinking that I really need to do something about that.  I’ve been feeling off lately, lots of stomach issues, and have been having a lot of trouble sleeping.  I’m wondering if switching up my diet would help.  Eating a bunch of hot tamales while sitting in bed can’t be conducive to a good night’s sleep.  Of course, I’m not really sure what “switching up my diet” means.  At times likes these it would be really helpful to have someone who could write up a weekly breakfast, lunch, and dinner meal plan for me.  And possibly do my grocery shopping.   And cooking.  And cut up my food and feed me.  Is that too much to ask?

Speaking of eating better, I drove from the gym to Chick Fil A.  Brilliant.  But it’s fine, I got the grilled chicken and side salad.  We were on a tight schedule, so we swung through the drive through and headed home so I could quickly change and head to the dentist.  Apparently, my candy addiction has caught up with my teeth.  Luckily, I love my dentist and as far as dentist appointments go, it was pretty pleasant.

We had some pretty crazy thunderstorms last night.  Swim team and soccer were cancelled because of it but luckily, not the neighborhood happy hour!  They just moved it inside.  I think it’s pretty amazing that they just open up their house to the entire neighborhood.  I don’t even know how many kids were running around in there last night, but it was quite a few.  It’s a really great group and it’s been fun getting to know them.  And as a bonus it’s made us really love our neighborhood.  After dinner, we took the kids home, got them to bed and I headed over to a new friend’s house for a glass of wine.  It was the perfect end to the day.  Good wine, good conversation, good friends.

And a couple things I’m digging right this minute…

I read this blog yesterday.  I was intrigued by her egg sandwich topped with fresh blueberries.  I tried it with fresh raspberries this morning since that’s what I had on hand.  I used a sandwich thin, egg whites, a little raspberry jam, and a bunch of fresh raspberries.  AMAZING.  It’s my new favorite breakfast.  Seriously, try it.

And this song:

I liked the song before I saw Eric Church in concert.  But now I love it.  LOVE.  “Funny how a melody sounds like a memory…”  Oh so true.

Heading out to run at the lake this morning and then wait at home for our new washer and dryer to be delivered.  One of those things that are totally necessary and totally NOT FUN to spend money on.  But the pile of clothes is out of control since our dryer has been out of commission for a while now.  Luckily, I will have Eric Church to keep me company while I wait. 🙂

Leave a Reply

