Good Morning!  For whatever random reason, my ankle has been feeling really really good the last few days.  It’s like it finally just decided it’s going to heal… FINALLY… did I say that already?  I know I said I wasn’t going to run until I saw the chiropractor, but I MAY have decided that I was going to go for a run this morning.  Just an easy one.  I’d walk if it hurt too much.  Just a few miles.  And then I yelled at myself.  And reread this post I wrote.  And asked myself what good will come from running today?  I’m itching to get out there but I have a lot more to gain from sitting out than trying to hobble through a few miles right now.  Calm down spastic self.  So instead, this morning I googled exercises for the peroneal tendons and that’s what I’m spending my morning doing.  So apparently, I’m a slow learner, but I do, in fact, (eventually) learn.

I’m working 10-6 today and I’m actually looking forward to going to work.  It’s been a little dicey lately.  I’ve just been so frustrated about everything.  Not knowing when I’d be able to run again.  After missing the whole spring, wondering if I was going to have to sit out my fall marathons as well.  A lot of people are coming into the store right now and loading up on gear for upcoming races.  Lots of talk about training.  When I first started working at the running store, that was the stuff I loved.  I was excited to talk races and running.  Duh.  It’s a running store!  But I posted a link a few weeks ago.  The one about wanting to punch every runner you see when you can’t run.  Yeah, I still kind of feel that way.  Which creates a kind of weird conflicted state of being when working in a running store.

Customer: Hi!  I’d like to buy some running shoes!

Me: Shut up, I hate you.

Luckily, my mental filter caught that before it actually came out.  But going to work has been a whole lot more like, well, work than it was in the beginning.  But as I start to feel a little more optimistic about being able to return to running in the near future, I’m also feeling happier about being surrounded by running people all day long.

Tonight Lawrence and I are going to go on a nice non spastic walk.  Walking is growing on me.  Sometimes it’s nice to slow down and take it all in.  Off to work, have a great day!  🙂

Leave a Reply

