A new diagnosis

After a long wait, I finally got to see the chiropractor yesterday.  It was my first time ever seeing one and I admit to going into the appointment a skeptic.  I had high hopes but was still unsure he would be able to help me.  I feel like I can’t really review my experience without a few more appointments.  My foot is super sore from all the twisting, rubbing, and pulling on it he did.  So as far as pain goes, it still hurts.  BUT, I’m able to do some things without pain that I haven’t been able to do since February, so that gives me a lot of hope.  What I can say is that I really really liked him.  He took a lot of time listening to my history.  And after looking at my peroneal tendons, he didn’t think my issue is related to those.  He thinks the problem is my cuboid.

cuboidcuboid1

Huh?  Not a bone I’m familiar with, so I put Dr. Google to work last night.  Here’s what I found:

“Cuboid syndrome describes a common but poorly recognized, often mistreated and misdiagnosed condition of the foot.

Cuboid syndrome is defined as a minor disruption or subluxation of the structural congruity of the calcaneocuboid portion of the midtarsal joint. The disruption of the cuboid’s position irritates the surrounding joint capsule, ligaments and peroneus longus tendon.

Cuboid syndrome is a common cause of lateral foot pain in the athletic population and has been implicated as a complication of plantar flexion and inversion ankle injury. Inversion ankle sprains are one of the most common athletic injuries, accounting for between 38 percent and 45 percent of all injuries. Up to 40 percent of these patients have residual symptoms, with cuboid syndrome being a likely offender.

OMG!  I don’t know whether to jump for joy or scream.  So happy to finally have an answer that makes sense as to why I’ve been in so much pain for the last 4 months and mad that there was something I could’ve done for it!  It was particularly frustrating to read this:

“Once the diagnosis of cuboid syndrome has been made, the condition responds exceptionally well to conservative treatment.”

I’m not kidding, I read that and cried.  CRIED.  Months and months of frustration.  Doctors telling me that my MRI was fine and to go ahead and run.  Trying to run only to end up limping for days afterward.  Seeing doctor after doctor trying to figure out why I was still in pain after 4 months of very little running.  FINALLY, someone who said to me, being in pain is NOT normal and we are going to figure why it hurts.  And to find out it responds well to conservative treatment?  I couldn’t have asked for better news and while that makes me ECSTATIC, I’m sad that I lived with the pain for so long.

Of course, I’m still trying to remain cautiously optimistic, after all, it still hurts.  I thought I had answers before only to be right back to square one with this injury.  So, while I think this time we’ve finally found the root cause of it all, I’m not going to get too bent out of shape if the pain doesn’t magically disappear right away.  I know that he’s as committed as I am to figuring out exactly why I’m in pain and what the best course of treatment is.  He told me to go ahead and run over the next few days but no more than 4 miles at a time.  I go back Friday to get it adjusted again and to report back how it felt.

So this morning, I’m heading out to meet a friend for 4 miles around the lake.  I’m nervous and excited.  It’s been a long hard road to get to this point.  Mostly I’m thankful.  Thankful for the push to go see a chiropractor.  Thankful for the recommendation for this particular one.  And especially thankful that my insurance covers him. 🙂

One Comment Add yours

  1. How are you doing now? So, is Cuboid syndrome similar to plantar fasciitis?

Leave a Reply

