Ups and Downs

The ups and downs of recovery are kind of brutal.  The ups: finally figuring out what’s going on with me, getting the blessing to run, not feeling horrible stabbing pain during running.  The downs: foot is still very sore.  Yesterday it was super sore.  It’s hard for me not to let it get to my head and feel like I was wrong, this isn’t the answer after all, I’m going to be in pain FOREVER.  Drama queen.  Even though I read about the syndrome, and KNOW it’s going to take some time for things to feel completely back to normal:

“Patients who experience partial or incomplete symptom resolution may benefit from additional manipulations. There appears to be an association between the duration of symptoms and the number of manipulations required for complete symptom resolution.

So what they’re saying is that after being in pain for 4 months, 1 session with my chiropractor isn’t going to cure me?  Say what?  Oh right, patience.  My lack of patience always ends up kicking me in the butt.  Because I was feeling so sore yesterday, I took the day completely off.  It was probably a good decision, for my foot anyway.  Maybe not as good for my head which could use a nice sweaty long run on some nice soft trails.

I decided my foot could benefit from some compression therapy yesterday, so I showed up to the pool in my hot pink compression socks.  I decided if I was going to do it, I might as well go all the way, so I wore a matching hot pink shirt and shoes.  The looks I got were priceless.  The what-the-heck-is-that-crazy-lady-doing-now looks.  They make me smile.  I only got a few, what’s with the crazy socks comments.  I wonder what I can wear today to top that.  I’m running during swim practice this morning, so I need to make sure my clothes are actually functional.  My foot is feeling much better after a day off, so I’m curious to see how the run will feel.

The other day at work, I decided I needed this:

rumbleroller

It’s a rumble roller and I don’t think I could love it any more.  It’s small enough to fit in my pool bag, so I brought it with me yesterday.  And just when people thought I couldn’t get any stranger, I pulled that out.  I put it on the table in front of me and propped my calves up on it.  It was seriously good.  I like my normal smooth foam roller too, but some days I just need a little more and this little guy definitely gets the job done.

After doing some research on waterproof mp3 players (and reading this guy’s review), I think I’m going to order these:

swimp3

While not my favorite looking of the bunch, his review along with the price sold tag me on that one.  Hopefully once they come, I’ll be more excited to get some laps done.

I work tonight, swim meet in the morning and then we’re heading to see Zac Brown tomorrow night.  Can.not.wait.  Good friends, tailgating and amazing music?  I’m in!

Happy Friday!

Leave a Reply

