More chiropractor love

I love Dr. Wong more every time I see him.  While I was running Sunday morning, my right hip started hurting.  It’s getting to be ridiculous what a mess I am.  I know it’s all related to the stupid foot.  Even though it’s feeling better than it was feeling, it still hurts and I’m still favoring it whether I want to or not.  So I told him I thought my hip felt like it out of alignment.  He did a couple tests and then had me lie on my side while he jumped up and down on it until I had a jolt of pain and heard a big POP.  Problem solved!  It’s been sore since then so I’ve been rolling it like a crazy person.  He still wants me to run, so I’m braving the humidity while the kids are in swim practice.  While I couldn’t be happier about being able to run again, the fact that my return to running coincides with northern Virginia crazy humid summer is unfortunate.

After my appointment, we headed to the gym.  I really wasn’t feeling it.  It was one of those days where I felt like I needed someone to handcuff me to the elliptical for an hour so I wouldn’t hop off and go home.  I  did 20 minutes elliptical, 10 minutes stairmill, 20 minutes elliptical.  I thought briefly about doing another 10 minutes on the stairmill but opted for stretching  and balancing instead.  I feel like my ankle is really weak right now, so I grabbed a bosu and balanced away.  After some half-hearted core work, I threw in the towel and went home.  Oh well, some workout is better than no workout, right?

Last night we headed to the pool for the first Monday night meet of the season.  Lots of accomplishments last night.  Sean swam backstroke for the first time in a meet.  Ryan swam breaststroke and butterfly LEGALLY for the first time ever.  Brendan and Lauren both went best times.  I took a few hundred more pictures and am thinking it might take until next summer to get through them all.  I should probably go through them before the next meet this Saturday.  Since I do the slideshow for the end of the season I usually end up with thousands of pictures and the longer I wait to go through them, the more stressed I feel at the end of July.  Since I know that, you’d think I’d be on top of it… but you’d be wrong.  Being a procrastinator is rough!

If I survive my run this morning, we have our cookout tonight.  Sean has been counting down the days since last week.  It’s nice that it’s something the whole family looks forward to.  Off to run… humidity, bring it on!

Leave a Reply

