Roller Coaster

I’ve started quite a few posts over the last few days but haven’t been able to finish them.  The problem with this injury is really the emotional roller coaster I’ve been on from the beginning.  Things will feel really good one day and I’ll be convinced I’m finally on the mend, only to have it feel even worse the next day which sends me into a downward spiral of thinking I’ll never run again.  As you can imagine, I’m absolutely lovely to live with.  I’ve had some major ups and downs the last couple days.  Wednesday I met up with the running group at the store and ran with some guys I hadn’t run with in months.  It was hard.  And amazing.  Not gonna lie, I cried.  I was so incredibly happy to be back out there, it felt like old times… well, not quite like old times.  I’m pretty sure the hills got steeper and longer since the last time I ran them.  When the person you’re running with says, “I’m CPR certified but I’d really prefer not to have to use it tonight” that you’re probably not looking so pretty.  But to see a 7:xx for 3 of my 4 miles?  Totally worth it.

Then I woke up Thursday morning and my foot hurt.  When I brought the kids to swim practice, I had at least 3 people ask if I was limping.  Total frustration.  I keep telling myself that I need to give it some time.  But the reality is that I don’t want to!  I wanted Dr. Wong to do his magic and totally fix me.  To be back to running and then limping afterward made me wonder if it was helping at all.  I made an appointment for Friday morning because I didn’t want to wait until Wednesday to see him again.  I tried to run before the appointment and made it approximately 300 feet before giving up and going home.  I cried the whole way to his office.  Poor man.  He just looked at me and said, “Wow, so emotional about running.”  Oh if he only knew.  He did his thing and told me to go ahead and run.  I got home and did 4 miles.  Not pain free but much better.  And yesterday it felt even better.  And today, I ran 8 slow miles on the trail with a friend.  They were the most comfortable miles I’ve run in months!  Ups and downs.  On Friday, I was crying to Lawrence about how I would never run again and today I was skipping down the trail in my running happy place.

fountainhead

All the rain lately must’ve washed this bridge away.  We were undeterred and ran through the water.  I am still surprised about how much I love the trails.  I love everything about them.  I think future running goals are going to include a lot more trails and a lot less road running.

So that’s where I am today.  Feeling good.  Tomorrow?  Who knows.  The reality is that I could barely run at all before I saw Dr. Wong.  I’m now running 4 times a week.  I’m not breaking any land speed records or anything, but I’m running much better than I was before I saw him.  I know I’m on the right path now, I just need to stop being so impatient and have faith.  I’m trying.

When I’m not freaking out about running, we’ve been spending a ton of time at the pool.

pool1

I have a really hard life.

The kids have been doing really well on swim team.

pool2

The best part: the ribbons!  I love to see how excited they get about them.

So that’s about it.  More swimming, running, and 4th of July parties on the schedule this week.  Can’t wait! 🙂

Leave a Reply

