My Week

Oh fickle injury!  One day I’m convinced I’m days away from a complete recovery and then there are days when I’m convinced this is my new normal and running is probably not going to be part of my future.  That’s been what the last few days around here have looked like.  Saying I am frustrated would be the understatement of the year.  I had such big plans for myself this year.  I posted this on facebook on December 10th, 2012:

“Ran my last race of 2012 yesterday. It has been such an amazing year of running for me, the goals met, the opportunities gained and most importantly the amazing friendships made. And while I can’t imagine things could go any better, I know the best is yet to come! Looking forward to setting goals and planning races for 2013!”

The fall was full of PR after PR.  I was running more and stronger than I ever had before and I knew I had only begun to scratch the surface as far as becoming the runner I had the potential to be.  While I still feel that way, that there’s a faster runner inside me, clearly 2013 hasn’t panned out the way I thought it would in pretty much any area of my life.  I’ve been frustrated with the situation but if I really take time to sit down and reflect on the year, some pretty amazing things have been going on in my life too.  I guess the saying that where God closes a door, he opens a window is true.  The problem has been I’ve been so busy trying to beat down the door, I completely missed the window on the other side of the room.  Running is important to me, I love it and it’s part of who I am.  So I will continue to try to figure out this thing and get back to it.  But in the meantime, there are some important things I need to do.  I think one of the big reasons I’ve been so focused on getting back to running is because I feel like all the good qualities in me are because of running.  I feel better about myself and honestly, I like myself better when I’m running.  So without running, I’m just not worthwhile.  This is false.  I know this is false.  I just have to continually remind myself.

Since the race on Sunday, I’ve done nothing.  No exercising at all.  The thought of that a few weeks ago would’ve been horrible.  And really, there are probably things I could do, pulling in the pool, even the elliptical or spinning are probably easy enough on the ankle to do but I want to give my ankle as much rest as I can.  Clearly I have to be on my feet and walk around to get through the day, but I’m taking a gym break for now.  When all else fails, give rest a try I guess.  I saw my chiropractor yesterday and he’s still committed to figuring this thing out.  The pain has moved since I first started seeing him, more ankle and less foot these days.  We talked about getting another MRI to see what’s changed since the last one and hopefully give us a clue about where to go from here.  I also made an appointment with the podiatrist I saw before.  Why?  I’m not sure, but might as well.  At the very least, he’s a nice guy and I like talking to him.

As for what’s on my plate right now to distract me from my lack of exercise?  I have enough stuff I’ve been putting off for too long to keep me busy for the next year.  First and foremost, the swim team end of the year party is next Sunday which means I need to go through about 2000 pictures and put together the slide show before then.  So this week will be full of that.  We’re also doing a little purging which always feels good.  Our Vegas trip is quickly approaching too.  So a lot to keep me busy and to look forward to.

Since I haven’t posted all week, I didn’t talk about our weekend but it was really fun.  Friday night I headed out to Jiffy Lube to see Train and the concert was awesome.  It’s up there as one of my favorite concerts this summer.  A friend had an extra ticket, so I tagged along but didn’t think I’d know much of their music.  I was surprised that I actually knew most of it and really like them!  We also lucked out with perfect weather.  After pouring all day, the weather cleared and we got a cool non-humid summer night.  I was in a jacket which is crazy to think about today as the temps and humidity reach new levels of miserable.

train1train

Saturday started with a swim meet as all July Saturdays do and in the evening we headed out to a winery with some friends.  Live music, good friends and good wine, does it get better than that?

And here’s a picture of the shirt my sister-in-law gave me for my birthday:

sweat

Perfect for me, no?  When the back gets wet, it says Train Harder.  I love it and can’t wait to run it… which will happen… eventually.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Alice says:

    Great post. Love the shirt!

Leave a Reply

