The Boot

Well, it’s been a very long road to get to the point but I’ve come full circle with this injury.  After I had the MRI in March, the report said I had a stress fracture in my heel.  They didn’t put me in a boot and told me I could continue doing anything that didn’t hurt it.  So I switched to spinning and elliptical.  Then I took my MRI to a podiatrist who looked at it and said he didn’t think I had a stress fracture and gave me the green light to run again but I continued to have pain.  The last few months have been spent trying to figure out why running hurts so much.  Yesterday I had my first x-rays since March and even my untrained eyes could see the dark line on the side of my calcaneus (heel) bone.  After a little bit of crying to my poor doctor, he told me that it was actually really good news.  Bones heal and he’d much rather see a stress fracture than a torn tendon or ligament any day.  So here’s my new accessory that I will be wearing for at least the next four weeks.

boot

He said no elliptical, maybe some biking, pulling in the pool and the like.  I’m going to be ultra conservative at this point though and will be doing very little in terms of cardio.  It’s not worth the risk of setting myself back any further.  While I’m still frustrated by things, I’m also feeling optimistic about it for the first time in a long time.  I’m pretty sure this is the answer to what’s been causing me pain for so long.  In addition to the boot, my doctor is trying to get me a bone stimulator since it’s been fractured for so long.  He also wants me to have my bone density tested.  I go back for more x-rays in 4 weeks at which time he said I may be able to start pt if things look good.  I’m especially excited about that because they have an alter g treadmill.

alterg

I’ve been wanting to get on one of these for a while, so I’m excited about the prospect of testing it out.

We have a lot of things going on in the coming weeks, out of town visitors, vacations, a kitchen renovation, so making it to the gym is going to be a challenge.  I’m going to try to be okay with that and get in a core workout here and there when I can.  For the most part though, I’d like to concentrate on nutrition.  Do a little research, experiment with some recipes, cut out soda… AGAIN.  Basically, just start treating my body better.  And the bright side for me is that hopefully I’ll be ready to ease back into running just when the gorgeous fall weather hits.

So, at the end of all this, I’m glad I kept my appointment with the podiatrist.  I’m glad I kept looking for answers when things didn’t make sense.  I’m glad I didn’t give up.  I’m also glad for the time off of running, it’s been a blessing in disguise.  It’s given me time to pursue new relationships and to do some serious self reflection.  We’ve become part of a new community that has been a major blessing to our entire family.  I’m excited for what’s ahead.

Leave a Reply

