Vegas

redrocks1

Lawrence had a conference last week in Vegas and since I’d never been, we thought it would be fun for me to tag along.  We got in Wednesday afternoon, checked into the hotel and then headed out to Red Rock Canyon.  My brother and his wife and my sister and her husband went there when they were in Vegas in the spring and hiked one of the trails.  Unfortunately, with my foot in the boot, I couldn’t do too much hiking but I still wanted to check out the park and I’m so glad we did.  It ended up being my favorite part of the trip.  We parked at the first pull off we came to and walked down onto the rocks.  I really want to go back when I’m all healed up because I would’ve liked to do several of those hikes and go for a run.  It was 109 degrees when we got there but surprisingly, it felt much cooler than it does at home which just solidified my hatred of humidity.

redrocks2redrocks

We walked down that trail next to us in that first picture which took us down a little ways then up onto the rocks.  I didn’t make it too far unfortunately.  Surprisingly, that boot does not make for a good climbing shoe.  But we did run into this guy.

redrocks3

It was a little… okay, a LOT frustrating for me not being able to get around the way I wanted to.  But it was gorgeous and I’m glad we rented the car to drive out there, totally worth it.

We stayed at the Flamigo which had a nice big pool, important when the temps are well over 100.

flamingo

The view from my chair while Lawrence was stuck inside the conference:

flamingo1

Poor guy.

Also had to check out the hotel’s namesake:

flamigo

The flamingos seemed really excited to be there.

We did a little shopping, a little gambling, and had a couple pretty amazing meals.  We even got to meet our dinner one night.

lobster

Fyi, I don’t want to meet my dinner before I eat it.  And I don’t really like lobster.  Luckily Lawrence does so he didn’t die in vain.

Aside from Red Rocks, my other favorite thing in Vegas was the fountain in front of the Bellagio.

bellagio

It’s choreographed to music and pretty darn impressive.

So that’s Vegas in a nutshell.  I realized that I’m not really a Vegas girl but it was nice to get away for a few days.   The next week is a whirlwind of work, back to school shopping, and vacation packing before we head to the beach.

On a totally unrelated note, I didn’t actually make it to spin this morning.  I ended up staying out way past my bedtime hanging out and drinking wine with a couple friends.  Friends and wine > Early spin class.

Leave a Reply

