Three Weeks Down

Three weeks in the boot, less than two until I see the doctor again.  I’m nervous and excited about it.  I had planned to start some easy spinning this week, but the more I thought about it, the more I felt like I didn’t want to risk over doing it.  I took off running for nearly 8 weeks in the spring and this thing didn’t heal, so obviously what I was doing was too much for it and what I was doing was elliptical and spinning.  I had to ask myself if in 6 months if it would matter if I went to spinning this week and the answer was no.  It’s not going to affect my fitness in any meaningful way, but has the potential to set me back a few more weeks.  So, I’m trying to make the best of sitting around doing nothing which involves reading a lot about trail racing and ultras.

I have a friend at work who is on board to do some races with me.  And by with me, I mean we will both be running the same race but he will smoke me and be finished and showered by the time I finish.  So it’s been fun looking up races and deciding which ones to do.  I think we’re on board to do Holiday Lake again but a lot of it will depend on how my training goes this fall.  There are so many races that I want to do but I need to be realistic about how long it will safely take me to build back up my mileage.

Luckily, life is pretty busy at the moment, so not being able to make it to the gym isn’t necessarily a bad thing.  I’ve been working a lot this week and also trying to get ready for school to start, only 2.5 more weeks!  It’s hard for me to wrap my head around the fact that all four of them will head off to school this fall.  So I’m trying to get all the back to school shopping done for the most part before we head off to the beach.  I finally got around to registering Sean for kindergarten yesterday.  Yes, you read that right, I hadn’t registered him yet.  I had however already printed out the kindergarten supply list and bought the supplies, I like to do things backwards in my house.

We’re going to head to the outlets today to get some back to school clothes and then I work tonight.  At some point we’re going to start moving Brendan to the downstairs bedroom, move Sean in with Ryan and Lauren will have her own bedroom.  I was hoping to have the move done before school starts but I’m not sure that’s going to happen.  We need to get the downstairs room (currently the office/guest room) emptied out and repainted before he can move.  Always something going on over here!  I’ll hopefully tackle that the week after the beach.  The kids are very excited, particularly Brendan.

Happy Hump Day!

Leave a Reply

