All over the place

Did you read this article yesterday?  It’s about how the cost of raising children has gone up in the last 50 years.

“A new government report says child-rearing has increased 23% since 1960 even adjusted for inflation. A lot of the reason has to do with more expensive housing as well as higher costs for health care and child care.

Parents with a baby born in 2012 will spend $217,000 to half a million dollars to raise the child to age 18, not including the cost of college, according to statistics out Wednesday from the U.S. Department of Agriculture. The exact amount families spend varies depending on income.”

Now I’m not sure that’s an accurate number, but based on the amount of money we spent yesterday on back to school clothes and shoes, I think it may be a conservative estimate.  Of course seeing how excited they all were about their new stuff makes it worth every penny.  🙂

So, the last couple weeks, I’ve been feeling really really tired.  It makes no sense.  I’m not going to bed all that late, I’m not getting up early, and I’m not doing anything particularly strenuous during the day, so why do I feel so exhausted all the time?  Last fall, when I started increasing my mileage over 60 miles/week, I started having trouble sleeping.  I would fall asleep no problem but then wake up 3-4 hours later every night and not be able to get back to sleep.  The strange part about that though was that I never felt tired.  In fact, I felt like I had more energy than ever before.  I could go out with friends, come home late, get three hours of sleep and get up and run 10 miles the next morning with no issues.  It was very strange.  I think for me, I found the sweet spot of mileage.  Is there such a thing and has anyone else ever felt that way?  I felt like my body was just functioning better at that mileage.  I was more fit, more energetic and happier than before.  I’ve been thinking about that a lot lately as I move through my days feeling exhausted.  I definitely think a lack of exercise can make you feel tired which will be frustrating as I try to get back into my routine in a few weeks.  It will be a hard cycle to break.  I want to work out to get into shape, but I feel so tired I just want to go to bed, but I know I need to work out so I won’t feel tired any more.  Vicious cycle!

Moving on, randomness from yesterday.

1. I got a call before we headed out to the mall.  Apparently insurance approved my doctor’s request for a bone stimulator machine thingy (technical term).  So today I meet with the nurse to learn how to use it.  I have no idea if it will make any difference but I figure at this point it can’t hurt so I’m excited to get it.

2. I must’ve dropped my cell phone walking into the mall yesterday because I remember looking for it when we were in the first store to check the time and couldn’t find it.  I assumed I had left it in the car.  Three hours later when we finally made it back to the car, I looked for it and it was no where to be found.  After I had a small heart attack, I headed back into the mall and asked if anyone had turned in a phone.  Thankfully somebody had!  It made my day not to have to deal with a lost cell phone.  So thank you nice person who found and turned in my phone at Potomac Mills yesterday!

3. I worked last night which is the first time I’ve worked a Wednesday night in a long time.  Running group was pretty small, not too surprising in August when a lot of people are traveling but it was fun to be there.  I miss it!   I felt a little guilty having the beer and snacks when I didn’t go on the run… but only a little.  Hopefully I’ll be earning my snacks again soon.

And lastly, my son is obsessed with tattoos.  At some point he was given a book of a million and one tattoos and likes to put them all over his body all the time (with a little help and encouragement from his sister).  His current tattoos:

seany

Oh that kid.

Leave a Reply

