Friday Randomness

Funny, I just talked about how hard it’s been to drag myself out of bed lately and here I am this morning bright and early, the only one up in my house.  I didn’t get to bed until around 12 last night, but for some reason, I was wide awake at 6.  I laid in bed hoping to get a couple more hours of sleep, but at 6:35, I gave up and came downstairs.  It’s strangely quiet.  I can’t remember the last time I was the first one up, definitely not since school let out in June.  I forgot how nice it is to sit in the quiet with a cup of coffee before the craziness of the day begins.

I picked up my new toy yesterday.

exogen

I wrap this little gadget around my foot, turn it on and supposedly it will speed up my bone healing.  All I know is that insurance covered it at 100% most likely in hopes that I will stop going to see doctors.  Don’t worry, insurance company, I’m totally with you.  I hope to not have to see any more doctors for a long long time.  After the rep showed me how to use it, my doctor came out and said hello.  My follow up with him is in a week and a half and I asked if he thought I’d be able to start running at that point.  He gave me the very cautious response of, “Let’s wait and see how things look.”  So, although I had been planning to be able to get back to life as usual after that appointment, I guess I should start preparing myself in case I need to stay in the boot a few more weeks.  He already had to witness a little tearful breakdown when he broke the news of the stress fracture to me, I’d like to spare him another one if I can manage.

On a totally different note, I finally got to try on a pair of Hokas yesterday.  I’ve been curious about them since I read an article about them a couple years ago.  They are strange looking.

hoka

I haven’t been able to find anyone locally who carried them and I didn’t want to buy a pair without trying them on… at $160 they’re not exactly cheap.  So a woman walked into the store yesterday in a pair.  I was talking to her about them and she was like, here, try them on.  Is that weird?  I don’t know, but I went ahead and put that sucker on.  It’s crazy how light they are for how huge they look.  I don’t know that I’m sold on them, but I would love to try them out on a run.  I do wonder if the extra cushion would make them a good choice for me after this stress fracture.  Hmmmm.

It’s hard for me to wrap my head around the fact that the kids go back to school in 2 weeks.  Where did summer go?

DSC_0344DSC_0659

DSC_0807DSC_1670

It’s also hard for me to wrap my head around the fact that those big kids are these kids:

kids

Good grief.

Today is beach shopping, laundry, packing day while I listen to my current favorite song.

“Well we all have faith, and we all have hope,
But we’re all a little lost in the same damn boat.
It’s a helluva life, it’s a helluva life.”

Yes it is.

Leave a Reply

