Quick Update

I spent the last week lounging on the beach, reading and soaking up the sun in the Outer Banks.  I think it’s going to take a few days for me to settle back into our routine (just in time for school to start!) but I went to the doctor today for my follow up so just wanted to give a little update.

I was diagnosed with the stress fracture 5 weeks ago and have been wearing the boot (more or less) ever since.  I have to admit that I wasn’t all that good about it at the beach last week but I was always careful to be gentle with that foot.  I got another x-ray and we could still see the fracture although it looked better than it did 5 weeks ago.  So I’m still in the boot for another 2 weeks and he wants me to get another MRI.  I haven’t scheduled it yet but will hopefully get that done this week.  I asked him about exercising and he gave me the go ahead to start to do very low impact exercises as long as it doesn’t hurt my foot at all.  He told me I had to be completely honest with myself and not to anything that irritated it.  I definitely don’t want to prolong my healing, so I will be careful but it’s good to be allowed to do something again.  I plan to go back to spin class tomorrow.  I can’t even imagine what a disaster I’ll be since I’ve pretty much done nothing sweat inducing for the last 6 weeks but I’ve got to start somewhere, and spin class is a good way to do it.

When I look back over the last 6 months, it’s hard for me to believe it’s been so long since I’ve been really able to run.  I NEVER would’ve thought I’d still be out of commission come September.  Hopefully I’m coming to the end of this injury journey and hopefully I’ve learned some lessons from it.  I think I finally have some answers to all my questions about this.  I think the initial cause of all my pain was cuboid syndrome.  Once the cuboid is out of place, it needs to be manipulated back which is why time off back in February and March didn’t fix things.  I think this stress fracture in my heal happened from running on it while the cuboid was out of place.  Since I was in pain, I know my gait was not normal and probably caused all sorts of stress on my foot and ankle.  I think this stress fracture most likely got a lot worse at the July 4th race since I had a huge increase in pain after that.  Hopefully now that my cuboid is back in place and this stress fracture is healing, this will be the end of it.  And as long as I ease back into running in a smart way, I will be running healthy in a few months.

Time will tell but I’m optimistic and go back in 2 weeks for another check up and more x-rays.  Fingers crossed that at that point I can retire my boot!

Leave a Reply

