Little Surprises

I like to listen to music while I’m in the kitchen.  I usually just play it from my laptop, the speakers work well and it’s good enough for me.  But when Lawrence asked the other day if I wanted him to wire speakers into the ceiling while he had it open, I gave an enthusiastic YES.  It’s been a challenge during this renovation to not over improve.  Since we only plan to be in the house a couple more years, we have to keep in mind return on investment.  On the other hand, we want to make sure we love what we’re putting in so that we can enjoy it while we’re here.  I think we’ve done a good job so far, so it’s fun to add a couple of totally unnecessary splurges and wiring the kitchen for audio is one of those.

I’m excited about pretty much everything happening in the kitchen, but the sound system is near the top of the list.  I mean, sure, I’ll finally have space to put all our groceries away, but more importantly, I’ll be able to listen to music.  It’s the little things!  So that was a fun little surprise the other day and it’s on the list of things to do this week while the walls are open.

I’m feeling a little useless right now since I can’t really help much this week.  So I did what any normal person would do when their house is totally torn apart, I started another project.  I’ve been wanting to paint our main floor bathroom for a while now and figured I might as well do it now.  That way I don’t feel quite as guilty when Lawrence is up working until 11 every night, since I’m up working too.  Makes perfect sense.  We completely gutted this bathroom when we moved in 9.5 years ago and here’s how it looked this afternoon:

bathroom2

bathroombathroom1

It’s a small space.

Here’s how it currently looks after a coat of primer and a coat of paint:

bathroom3

It’s the same color as the rest of the first floor now.

And here’s how it’ll look when I get the stripes up:

stripes

(source)

I just think it’s fun.

My run this morning went pretty well.  My foot is still a little sore so I’m going to continue to take it easy-ish.  I’m hoping I can get back to normal training next month but I’m not sure it will happen.  In the meantime I’m going to keep pool running and cross training.  I’m 6 months out from Boston and don’t want to jeopardize that race but with this perfect running weather, it’s hard stay off it.  I just need to remember the long term goal.

Leave a Reply

