Halloween 2013 and I’m no spring chicken!

It’s been kind of a rough week over here.  Last week we were still on the gung ho high of finally getting this kitchen project started after years of talking about it.  We worked on the kitchen and when that wasn’t enough, I started more projects.  Why not?  We were having fun and getting stuff done!  This week?  Oh this week.  The magnitude of what we were trying to accomplish set in.  After all the work we had already done, we had way more in front of us.  We got a little tired, a little cranky and a little stressed.  There was a tray of spilled paint, a plumbing freak out, and a tetanus scare.  Yesterday Lawrence finished the drywall.  Whew.  That marks a big milestone in the project.  With the drywall done, we can start putting everything back together again.  We sealed it and primed the walls last night and I put on the topcoat today so we can start getting the cabinets up tonight.  Because we weren’t as far along as we’d hoped at this point, I called and had the appliance delivery delayed until Monday.  It takes some of the pressure off of us and we’ll be able to get the cabinets in without being in a total spazzy rush.  So that’s what’s been going on over here the last few days.  My brother and sister-in-law are taking the kids over night tonight so we can get some work done.  I don’t know what we’d do without all the help with the kids during this project.  We’re so grateful!  I’ll have some new pictures up soon as the cabinets go in.  Glad the weekend is here and excited to see the kitchen start coming back together.

We took a break from the construction to celebrate Halloween.  With everything going on here, I felt totally unprepared.  Luckily, the kids didn’t care.  They had carved their pumpkins and picked their costumes.

DSC_3130DSC_3132

Do I really have a child too old to dress up for Halloween?

DSC_3142

Yep.  Guess so.

DSC_3123

Even in the rain they had a blast trick-or-treating and came home with enough candy to last us until next Halloween (or until I eat it all.)

As far as running goes, I’m faced with my normal issue of wanting to do too much too fast.  I did an easy run Wednesday morning not planning to go to the run up at the running store that night.  But Brooks was sponsoring the run, so I decided to go up after all and just do a nice easy run.  But I ended up running with someone I’d never run with before.  And she ended up being fast.  And not wanting to slow her down, I ended up running way faster than I should’ve.  Even though I knew I shouldn’t be doing tempo runs at this point, it felt great!  And gave me a huge confidence boost, like maybe I didn’t lose all my fitness after all.  So I got home that night and started looking up races.  Just short ones.  Maybe a 1 mile race here and a 5k turkey trot there.  Surely those would be fine.  But I wanted to get the blessing of my coach before committing to anything.  Here was his response:

“I think you are OUT OF CONTROL!  OK, I’m done yelling. It’s great that you want to get into these races. You’re competitive so it’s only natural to want to get in on the action at these local races.

Your off season was 6-8 months of wearing a boot?! Now after 3 weeks you want to start racing! I’m not yelling. My question for you is this: What do you really want to do? Do you want to just race for the sake of racing when you are not ready and waste the effort while risking injury? Or do you want to train like an animal for key races and be competitive in all of them? Take a minute to think about it. Also think about the fact that you’re no spring chicken!  These are the prime years for people our age so I think we need to take advantage, and I don’t mean by racing for the sake of racing. Another injury and taking off another 6-8 months would not be a good thing.”

My favorite part was the spring chicken line.  I love being reminded that I’m old. 😉  But that response was why I wanted a coach to begin with.  He’s right.  Of course I don’t need to be racing right now.  Even though I KNOW that, it’s still hard for me to accept.  I’m thankful to be working with someone not afraid to call me out when I’m being stupid.  So I won’t be doing any races until December when I’m doing the Blue and Gray half marathon with friends in Fredricksburg.  At this point, I don’t even have a goal for the race.  It will depend on how the next few weeks of training go and I’ll just take it one run at a time from here on out.

Leave a Reply

