More cabinet progress and I don’t always listen

Last night was another late night but totally worth it because we got the last of the cabinets installed!  The only ones we hadn’t put in yet were under the cutout.  They were built just not installed, so while I was at running group, Lawrence put those in.  When I got home, we finished building all the drawers for that block of cabinets and installed them.  All they still need are handles (well and counters obviously, but that is the ONE thing in the kitchen that we aren’t doing ourselves… YAY!) and they are DONE.

cabinets10

Tuesday morning it was looking like this:

cabinets6

That night Lawrence installed the microwave which took a little longer than we thought it would but I’m so happy to have it in, corn dogs for everyone!

microwave

Now it looks like this:

kitchenprogress

We still have a few more drawers to build and all the pull outs for that big pantry on the left, but for the most part, the cabinets are done which means it’s time to order the granite.  The plan is to get that ordered this weekend and my hope is that they’ll be able to install it by the end of next week.  Counter tops = water!  Even though we won’t get to the floors for a couple of weeks, once we have water in the kitchen again it will pretty much be fully functional.  Yesterday marked 3 weeks from when we took down the first cabinets.  On the one hand, 3 weeks feels like a long time to live in the chaos that was going on in my house.  On the other hand, I never thought we would get things done as quickly as we have.

OH and a couple fun little details and currently my favorite parts of the new kitchen.  For the bottom cabinets we picked all drawers and pullouts.  So the cabinets on either side of the stove pull out like this:

pullout

I love them.

The trash is also in a pullout:

trash1

But the fun part of this is that it pops out automatically when you tap it with your foot thanks to this fun little machine:

trash

When we were playing with the kitchens at Ikea, this was one of the features that amused me the most.  I’m not kidding when I say I stood in front of that cabinet and kicked it about 20 50 times.  On top of the fact that it’s just fun to play with, I’m sure it’ll actually be useful to have hands free trash… and it’s just fun.

And my #1 most favorite part of the kitchen that I use constantly when I’m home:

amp

This.is.awesome.  I can play music from my phone through the speakers in the ceiling via this guy that resides in the drawer over the trashcans.  It’s the little things people.  I mean, yeah, my usable storage space probably more than doubled, but I can open the trashcan with my foot!  And play music!

So that’s where the kitchen is today.  Now it’ll be more the details while we wait for the granite.  Framing the cutout.  Wiring the in and under cabinet lights.  Installing the crown molding.  Painting.  I can see the light at the end of the tunnel!

I’m pretty proud of myself that I haven’t become so totally all consumed by the kitchen that I stopped working out.  I tend to get completely focused on one thing and a lot of times will have trouble doing anything else.  In the past when we’ve done house projects, I’ve stopped running all together because I didn’t have the energy to do both.  I’ve really tried to keep the balance this time around.  Having a running schedule has helped immensely.  I still have trouble not over doing it and some days I’m better at it than others.  Running is my outlet, so if I’m feeling stressed or depressed or just need some down time, going for a run is always going to be my first choice of activity.  Of course, coming back from an injury means that I shouldn’t always do that.  Yesterday I ran more than I should’ve.  I did my 6.5 mile workout before work which consisted of a 2 mile warm up, 8 45 second fartleks, and a 2 mile cool down.  After a stressful afternoon, I decided to run up to the running store (3ish miles) for the fun run (another 4 miles).  I had permission to do the fun run as long as I took it easy, but probably should’ve kept it to 4 miles total at most.  I’m sure I’m a very frustrating person to work with.  You may not know this about me, but I don’t always listen.  And it’s not because I don’t respect the training plan or advice I’m getting, I do.  One of the most difficult things in training is reconciling what you should do with what you want to do.  If my body would cooperate, I would run double digits on a daily basis.  But I’m injury prone.  It’s a fact that I’ve come to realize.  I’m still working on figuring out exactly what that means for my training.  I think for now it means listening to the good advice I’m getting and trying not to be a total spazz on a daily basis.  Yesterday was my spazzy day.  Today is my smart day where I’m heading to the pool for some pool running.

Leave a Reply

