The end of the race

It’s currently snowing and for once, I’m prepared.  All of my kids have boots, gloves, coats, and snow pants that fit.  It’s my Christmas miracle.  I do wish it had held off for a couple more weeks.  The house is still in a state of upheaval so having the kids home from school for a few days right now is a little difficult.  But with this lazy morning I’m finally updating the blog, so I guess that’s good. 🙂

Honestly, I’ve been too exhausted to post anything.  I know everyone knows that kind of tired.  Where your mind will just not put two words together in a coherent way.  Yeah, that kind of tired.  We got the floors installed in the kitchen last weekend.  And it pretty much took all weekend.  Like we got up at 7:30 Saturday morning and went to bed at 1:30 am that night.  I did take a kitchen break Saturday to attempt to clean the gutters before the storm but that didn’t go as well as I’d hoped.  Poor Lawrence has done nearly everything in the kitchen.  I wanted to take something off his to do list, so I asked him to put the ladder up so I could clean the gutters.  So I climb to the top of this big scary 2 story ladder and get up on the roof.  And then, I just sit there.  Because I’m too afraid to leave the safety of the chimney.

gutter

Now if you look at the bottom of this picture, you’ll notice that part of the gutter is nice and clean.  That’s how far I could reach while wedged between the roof and chimney.  I tried crawling further out, which I could do, but I was too afraid to get close enough to the edge to actually reach the leaves.  I managed to make it down in one piece but was disappointed in myself for being too wimpy to get the darn gutters cleaned out.  But as luck would have it, our neighbor also needed to clean her gutters.  When she heard us putting up our ladder, she called her boyfriend to come clean their gutters.  So half an hour after I sheepishly climbed down the ladder, they showed up at the door asking if they could use the ladder and generously offered to clean our gutters out while they were up there.  SO, I figure, in a round about way, I did help out with the gutters.  Had I not asked Lawrence to put the ladder up, the neighbor wouldn’t have come over and the gutters wouldn’t have gotten cleaned.  So yeah, go me. 🙂

Back to the floors.  The floors went in slower than we thought they would.  It doesn’t actually surprise me, we underestimated how long a lot of things would take.  We were hoping to have all the floors in this past weekend but (hopefully) we’ll be finishing up the living room this weekend.  Last time I posted the kitchen was looking like this:

backsplash2

Here it is today:

kitchenprogress1

Let’s take a closer look at those floors:

floors

And the sink with a pretty view:

sink

kitchenprogress2

And the reason all the pictures are from this perspective is because the other end of the room is looking a little like this:

kitchenprogress3

Still a lot of tools out until the project is done.

And I’m not even going to post a picture of the living room because it’s embarrassing.  Here’s a before picture:

cabinet

It doesn’t look like that.  Hmmmm, it looks a little like this happened in there:

destruction

One more weekend, one more weekend.  I keep telling myself that.  There were a few times over the weekend where we felt like we just wanted to give up but I told Lawrence we were on mile 23 and had to keep going.  Mile 23 in a marathon is a crappy mile.  You’re almost done.  You’ve run most of the way, only 3 miles left.  But when your legs feel like they won’t go one step further, you wonder how on earth you will make it another 3 miles??  It feels impossible.  But somehow you do it.  You put one foot in front of the other.  It’s all you can do.  Right foot, left foot, right foot, left foot.  And those 3 miles feel like they take as long as the first 23 miles took.  But you don’t give up because the finish line is so close you can taste it and you just want to finish and sit and have a slurpee.  That is exactly how I feel right now.  So close but so far.  I just want to be done and put up our Christmas tree and enjoy the season.  But I have another 3 miles to go.  I can see the finish line.  Almost there.

Leave a Reply

