Looking Back at 2013

I guess now is the time to talk about all the things I plan to do in this new year to make myself a better person.   The problem is that I really haven’t thought of any.  Not because I have no areas in which I need to improve.  No, it’s probably the opposite.  There are just so many things I should be doing a lot better that it’s hard to narrow down which are the most important.  I feel like being too generic isn’t helpful, something like, be a better mother.  Well duh.  I think I make that resolution at the beginning of every day and more days than not, I end the day feeling like a total failure.  Since it’s not easily quantifiable, how do I know if I’ve succeeded or not?  Maybe I didn’t fail as often as I thought I did but with no measuring stick, how do I know?

On the other hand, I don’t want it to be so specific and aspirational that I’m bound to fail within the first week if not the first day.  Something like, I will spend 1 quality hour with each child individually each day.  This would be totally impossible for me even if there were enough hours in the day.  Another resolution which would set me up for failure?  Cutting candy out of my diet.  Oh yeah, remember that one time I wrote about cutting back on sugar?  And then I went out to my parents’ house for New Year’s eve and my sister bought me a bag of Twizzlers.  And I decided I didn’t feel like going for a run so I munched on the Twizzlers for a few minutes before my brother guilted me into going.  In case anyone was under the impression that Twizzlers were good pre-run fuel, I promise you that they aren’t.  My brother was very excited to get to listen to me whine about how I was going to throw up Twizzlers all over the road the entire run.  And serves me right!  Didn’t I JUST talk about how I was going to cut back on candy???  In fact, maybe that’s why I’m reluctant to make resolutions, clearly I’m terrible at follow through.

So then, what to do?  Well, I guess I don’t know.  I know I want to start living more simply.  Get rid of the clutter in my life.  I’ll spend the next few weeks pondering what that means in a more practical way.  In the meantime, I’ll look back at the highlights of 2013.  We were doing that last night at my parent’s house and it was a good exercise for me.  When I think about 2013, I think about what a hard year it was.  2013 was probably one of the most difficult years of my life.  I was not sad to see it go.  But it wasn’t all bad.  In fact, there were a lot of really great moments in 2013 as well!  In no particular order:

1. I finished my first 50k (and first trail race) at Holiday Lake.

holidaylake

This is the last quarter mile of the race and I ended up passing that girl for 7th place.

2. I went to a lot of concerts this year, and Kenny Chesney with Eli Young and Eric Church was my favorite.

eliyoung1ericchurch1

Being next to the stage has it’s advantages.

3. I learned how to ride a motorcycle.

taramotorcyclemotorcycle2

This was something we’d talked about for a long time.  Maybe in 2014 I’ll stop being such a weenie and ride it again.

4.  I visited Red Rocks near Las Vegas.

20130731_172858redrocks2

I would love to go back there again and next time skip the strip and spend the whole time exploring the trails.

5. Fun Family Times.

iceskating1DSC_3142

firstdayDSC_0344boys1doughDSC_0772bigjims1DSC_0751jenga1

There were a lot.  Too many to pick one.  Looking back, I feel incredibly blessed to be able to go all the places and do all the things were were able to do.

6. Being able to support friends in their running goals.

cheermcm20132

National half in March and Marine Corps Marathon in October.

7. Registering for 2014 Boston Marathon.

boston

That little piece of paper represents a lot of hard work and a whole lot of sweat!

8. The Big Kitchen Renovation!

kitchenprogress2

9. Fun times with friends.

happyhouricecreamzacbrownmcm20134funtimesfuntimes1party

10. Through all the hard of the past year, this guy is still by my side.

DSC_0971

Oh no, sorry, THIS guy. 😉

us

Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

