The wait is almost over!

Well, Wednesday is the day!  I’m actually surprised that I’m not nervous.  I’m sure it’ll hit Tuesday night but so far I’m just feeling so very ready.  Ready to put this year long injury behind me and finally start running well and pain free again.  The challenge will be staying somewhat fit while I’m stuck on crutches for the next 6 weeks.  I’m hoping not to lose it all but the reality is that I’ve had to start over before and I can do it again.  And my short term goal is to run a 5k with Lawrence in July so that’ll hopefully keep me moving.

As far as what’s been going on over the last few weeks, just a lot of working, playing, planning, and cooking.  We enjoyed the massive amount of snow that got dumped on us a week and a half ago.

sledding

Photo courtesy of Lauren

snowangel

seanselfie

I handed the camera over to the kids and found a few selfies of Sean.  They’re starting early these days!

We also had a really fun Valentine’s Day.  I had a fun time sitting at the table working on Valentine’s with Lauren, she’s quite the artist.  Here are my creations for my 4 little Valentine’s:

cards

I made tacos for dinner because it’s a family favorite.  The kids drank sparkling cider out of champagne glasses and Lawrence whipped up some margaritas for the two of us.  After we ate and exchanged Valentine’s, we played this game I bought for the kids:

beanboozled

We took pictures of the game but I haven’t gotten them off my camera yet.  Anyway, it was hysterical.  I don’t think I’ve seen Brendan laugh so hard in a really long time.  You spin the spinner and eat the color bean you land on.  So I got black and had to pick a black bean which was either licorice or skunk spray.  They look the same so there’s no way to tell whether you are going to eat the good or bad flavor.  Lauren only played one round since the first bean she got was rotten egg.  Sean and Ryan lasted quite a few rounds.  Brendan would’ve finished all the jelly beans, he loved it.

After we finished up there, we settled in to watch Despicable Me 2 complete with candy and popcorn.  It was pretty much the perfect Valentine’s Day.

For Lawrence, I was inspired by Pinterest and decided to do a date a month.  The dates are preplanned and mostly prepaid.  I actually didn’t finish the whole year before I gave it to him because I knew a few of the dates would be events I can’t get tickets to yet.  But he’s only allowed to open the date of the month we’re on and I’ve got the first 5 months done so I have time to fill the others as we get closer.  Here’s what he opened:

valentine1valentine2

We went on February’s date last night.

february

It included a Groupon to the skating rink.  (That top picture is from The Cutting Edge, classic.)  We only skated for about an hour.  We both agreed that skating is more fun with the kids.  And even though the skaters on tv make the spins and jumps look easy, they actually aren’t.  I know, it’s shocking.  From there we went to Fast Eddie’s to play some pool.  Apparently I am terrible at pool.  But we had a blast.  I don’t remember the last time we played and I don’t know why!  We played a bunch of games (all of which I lost) and had a couple beers and then called it a night.  Now we’re looking forward to March’s night out.

As far as running goes, I’ve been doing a lot of it!  Now that I know exactly what I’m dealing with, what the pain is, and know that I’m not going to make it worse by running on it, running’s been a lot easier.  I’ve been doing a lot of 8-10 mile runs and feel pretty good.  My foot is sore but that’s par for the course.  I won’t run on the treadmill right now but was able to get outside even with all the snow on the ground thanks to the park roads being pretty clear and traffic free.

roads

I love the lake.

lake

Aside from running to keep my mind off the surgery, I’ve also been doing a lot of cooking much to Lawrence’s delight.  I’ll write up a post about some of our favorite recipes that I’ve made lately.  I only pick uncomplicated ones without too many ingredients.  I like to be able to cook without having to pick up too many things that I don’t usually have on hand.  So pretty much everything we’ve had lately has been tasty and super easy which is really the best combo.  I’ll leave you with a picture of Sean rolling out the dough for naan the other night.

seannaan

Such a big helper!

Leave a Reply

