Meal Planning Monday….ummm Tuesday

I’ve been trying really hard lately to plan meals for the week.  I was in a big rut for a while where I was sick of all my usual recipes but couldn’t seem to find any other easy recipes that my family would eat.  And then I found a few cooking blogs and they changed my life.  Okay, maybe not my life but they did change the way my family has been eating.  I’m not sure if the kids are happy or sad about it (“Why did you make something new AGAIN??”) but Lawrence is definitely appreciating the new recipes.  I figured if anyone else is in a rut and needs some new recipes to try I’d go ahead and post what I’ve been making.  Any recipe I make is super easy and uses mostly ingredients on hand.  I try not to pick recipes with a bunch of things I never use because inevitably down the road I just end up throwing them away.

So THIS is my new favorite blog.  I want to try just about every recipe on her site.  Lawrence’s favorite is the Korean beef bowl.  So quick and SO easy.  Here’s the ingredient list:

  • 1/3 cup brown sugar, packed
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • 1 tablespoon sesame oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon crushed red-pepper flakes, or more to taste
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1 tablespoon vegetable oil
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 pound ground beef
  • 2 green onions, thinly sliced
  • Cooked rice, for serving

I made this one night when I was looking for a quick recipe so I had to use what I had on hand.  I subbed ground turkey for the ground beef, avocado oil for the sesame oil and omitted the green onions.  Lawrence and I really liked it but it was a little spicy for the kids so tonight when I make it, I’ll put less red pepper flakes in.  I also made this one one night which tasted pretty similar but without any heat.  It was good but I think I prefer the first recipe.

The kids voted this sweet and sour chicken the best new recipe I’ve tried.  I think next time I make it I might make the sauce, skip the frying and turn up the heat a little and bake it the whole time.  I’m not sure the frying adds much aside from extra work for me. 😉

So those are a few things I’ve been whipping up in the kitchen.  This week will be kind of weird in terms of meals with my surgery tomorrow but I’m still trying to keep dinner somewhat normal so we don’t have to rely on fast food too much, not that I’m opposed but it just get expensive these days!  So here’s what our week looks like:

Tuesday: Korean Beef Bowl

Wednesday: Pot Roast (I plan to throw this in before I leave for surgery in the morning, love my crock pot!)

Thursday: Quinoa Chili (I’ll be making this today and put it in the fridge for later.)

Friday: Either leftovers if we have a lot or a chicken pot pie we got from Costco at Ryan’s request, boy loves his pot pies

potpie

Saturday: My mother-in-law is dropping off dinner, yay!

Sunday: Slow Cooker Bacon Ranch Chicken (I made this before and the turkey bacon just became totally bland and lost all flavor in the crock pot, I’m going to use real bacon this time and see how that goes. I also always sub plain greek yogurt for sour cream because I always have it on hand.)

So that’s what we’ll be eating this week.  Feel free to share your favorite easy recipe here!

Leave a Reply

