More meal planning and my first post-surgery workout!

I was supposed to get my cast today but yet another winter storm changed those plans and we’re stuck at home.  Okay I’m not going to lie, right now in my incapacitated state, I don’t mind the snow.  It means that when I’m driving around I won’t feel like throwing empty cans at all the runners taking advantage of the perfect spring running weather.  For the most part I’m actually not upset about this forced break.  I’ve had a very long time to come to terms with it and it SHOULD be the answer and cure for all the pain I’ve been dealing with over the last year.  I’m excited about getting back to a healthy instead of painful relationship with running.  But even in my state of acceptance, not having to see everyone else frolicking down the street is kind of nice.  I know, I’m a bad person.

Recovery has gone pretty well.  Aside from some swelling making my splint a little uncomfortable I haven’t had much pain.  I actually made it to the gym yesterday with Lawrence.  I have a serious new respect for the people race the marathon on a hand bike.  That stuff is hard!

handbike

I did 30 minutes on that thing and my arms felt like they were going to fall off and I only made it 5 miles.  It reminded me of the story Lawrence told me about the Marine Corps marathon.  For those of you unfamiliar with that marathon, it ends on a steep nasty little hill.  I literally stopped at the bottom, could see the finish line and said I wasn’t going any further.  Nasty little thing.  Anyway, while he was waiting for me, he saw a few hand bikers try to get up that hill.  They would back up and try to get up enough speed but only make it half way up and then slide back down.  But they were determined.  They didn’t want help.  Some just couldn’t make it.  Lawrence saw one man roll out of his bike and drag it up the hill.  Kind of amazing.  I thought about them as I suffered through my 30 minutes.  I only wish I had that kind of determination.

After that I headed over to the rope pull machine, which looks like this:

ropepull

I only did 10 minutes on it but think I prefer this machine to the arm bike machine.  It was more back than arm intensive which is good since the back muscles are larger.  I burned more calories in a shorter amount of time and felt like I was working less.  I’ll probably still incorporate the arm bike into my workouts just for variety but this will probably be the machine I do most of my cardio on for the next few weeks.  My goal is to get in 4 workouts/week.  We shall see.

I baked cookies yesterday.  If you like snickerdoodles, you MUST make these.  Perfectly crisp on the outside and chewy on the inside.  Listen to the reviews and chill the dough until it’s very cold.  The dough wasn’t ready until after 8, so we only made one sheet of cookies and they were gone as soon as they came out of the over.  We’ll go ahead and make the rest of the cookies today, I’m pretty excited about it.

I did my meal planning yesterday so we could run to the store before the storm hit.  This is what this week looks like:

Monday – Costco Pot Pie (that didn’t get eaten last week)

Tuesday – Friend bringing dinner 🙂

Wednesday – Another friend bringing dinner 🙂

Thursday – Philly Cheesesteak Sloppy Joes

Friday – Cafe Rio Sweet Pork (I have high hopes for this one!)

Saturday – Leftovers if we have a lot or Bonefish Grill’s Bang Bang Shrimp Tacos

Sunday – Friend bringing dinner

The one good thing about being on crutches, awesome friends bringing food!  The bad thing: having a hard time sweeping and vacuuming to make the house decent for said friends to drop off food.  So for anyone in my house over the next few weeks, I apologize in advance.

Leave a Reply

