Pinterest dinner fail and other randomness

I had high hopes for dinner last night.  Lawrence and I are big fans of the sweet pork at Cafe Rio and I found a copy cat recipe for the slow cooker that I was excited to try out.  I followed it exactly but for some reason when I went to shred the pork, it would.not.shred.  Like, there was an epic battle in my kitchen last night, me vs. pork.  Spoiler: the pork won.  So instead of the shredded pork I’d been looking forward to, we had large chunks of mauled pork.  It actually tasted pretty similar to the Cafe Rio pork but after feeling like I spent all day making dinner, it wasn’t what I was hoping it would be.  (I also made the Cafe Rio tomatillo ranch dressing and homemade tortillas.  And fyi, I don’t know if it was just the recipe I chose, but homemade tortillas weren’t worth it.  They were easy to make, just took more time.  After our success with homemade naan which is 100% worth the work, I was surprised that I wasn’t more impressed with the tortillas.)  I’m going to make a couple of changes and try the pork again but yesterday I was just feeling kind of defeated.  Having to hop around the kitchen on one foot really takes it out of me.  Lawrence whipped up a margarita for me to go with my failed dinner attempt and luckily at least it was perfect.

I went to the gym the last 2 days and it’s not actually as bad as I thought it would be.  Interestingly, when I was on the hand bike time stood still.  No really, it did.  But on the rope pull machine, time seems to fly by.  I’m not sure why that’s so.  But at the end of this, I may incorporate the rope pull machine into my normal workouts.  It works out every muscle from the waist up which is good when I’m concentrating mostly on running and those muscles are getting neglected.  But probably the real reason I’m loving this machine is this:

calories

Apparently I can burn over 400 calories in 20 minutes on it.  Hmmm.  Okay, I don’t ACTUALLY believe that that’s accurate.  But I don’t care.  I like seeing it anyway and pretending.  Kind of like if I don’t get on a scale, I haven’t gained any weight.  Sometimes I just need to lie to myself and I’m okay with that.  And if seeing that number gives me a little extra motivation to get my booty to the gym, well, what’s the harm in that? 🙂

Since I can only hop on one leg around my house for so long, I’ve done a little internet shopping since I’ve been on crutches.  Thankfully I’m going to back to work next week to get me away from my computer.  Amazon one click shopping makes it a little TOO easy to order stuff.  It’s getting a little out of control.  Lauren and I sat down and ordered her some clothes from Old Navy yesterday.  Why did I never do that before???  It was so much better than actually going to the store.  Making a few returns is much easier than going to the store and trying to pick things out with her and I can’t just buy her clothes anymore because she rarely likes what I pick out.  So internet shopping made the experience so much more pleasant for all involved.  Now I know.  I may never go to a store again.

Lawrence and I have been looking for a new tv series to watch for a while.  We were both really into Dexter for a while.  We tried out a few others but haven’t gotten past season 1.  Since I signed up for Amazon prime we have free access to a bunch of different series and after hearing good things about Sons of Anarchy from Lawrence’s sister, we finally decided to watch it.  We finished season 2 last night and we’re really enjoying it.  I rarely watch a series all the way through though so we will see if it keeps me engaged.  I loved Dexter but never watched the last 2 seasons because I didn’t like the way the series was going.  Lawrence and I watched Breaking Bad together for a few seasons but I stopped when it just got weird.  But we like to watch tv together so it’s nice to find a series we both enjoy.

I asked my doctor if I should be taking glucosamine since I have pretty severe arthritis in the joint between the cuboid and calcaneus now.  He said yes, that studies have shown it really helps joints.  So I asked how much to take and he said he couldn’t give me a number because it depends on what it’s mixed with and to just get one that says maximum strength.  Then said, with glucosamine it really does seem like, the more you take, the more it helps.  I just looked at him.  He looked at me.  Silence.  Then he said, Uhhhh…. within reason.  I was like, you can’t tell me that.  Do you know me?  That’s how I ended up in here in the first place!  Some running is good?  Then LOTS MORE must be better!  So, if I die of glucosamine poisoning (is that possible?) you know why.

Happy Friday!

One Comment Add yours

  1. We’re watching Leverage on Netflix — really a fun show. Parker reminds me a little of you. She’s so cute! Give it a try. We’re off it for Lent (except on Sundays, little Easter). I’m missing it. But that’s the point of sacrifice right? And Dad and I are spending more time talking about religious subjects.

Leave a Reply

