Gym and Costco

Yesterday was just one of those days.  Motivation and energy was low.  I started off with 30 minutes on the rope pull machine and it was a suffer-fest from the beginning.  I guess some days are just like that.  I halfheartedly did some core and was taking a break when Lawrence sent a text saying he wanted to go to the gym in the afternoon.  I had arms on the schedule so I told him I’d wait to lift and go back with him later.  Lifting is about 10,000x better with someone else.  I continued to wander around the gym looking lost, did my leg machine, then gave up and left.

At this point I figure any time in the gym is better than no time in the gym.  Even on my halfhearted days, at least I’m doing something.  If only I could get fit by just hanging out in the gym.  Can you catch big muscles, like a cold?  If so, there are some dudes in the weight room I’m going to stand next to today.  Anyway, I got dinner together in the afternoon so we could just heat it up and eat when we got home from the gym.  I made this recipe last night for Philly Cheesesteak sloppy joes and it was nice and easy and everyone liked it.  Perfect for those nights you need to cook ahead of time and heat it up later.  Anyway, back to the gym we went and I had Lawrence take a few pictures of me on the rope pull machine to demonstrate how I’ve been spending my time while in the cast.

ropepullropepull1

Sorry for the blurry pictures, my photographer needs to work on his skills.  Pulling on a rope.  It’s as exciting as it sounds.

I was SO tempted to turn around and yell, “OMG, creeper!  Why are you taking pictures of me?!”  Lawrence didn’t think it was as funny as I did, so I didn’t.

We did some of this too

curlscurls1

So that was fun.

The other night we went to Costco for some dinner and groceries.  This is what over $300 of groceries looks like.

costco

I’m not sure what we bought but hopefully it’s enough to get us through the next month because we’re not shopping again.

I tried to convince Lawrence I needed this for our bed but he wasn’t having it.

chick

The boys found something that we did end up buying though.

Frozen

Sean likes to belt out Let It Go in the kitchen.  Even with all the different versions of that song floating around, I think his is my favorite.  We plan to watch Frozen tonight for family movie night and then Lawrence and I have a romantic evening of going through our finances planned.  Be jealous.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. SuzLyfe says:

    I always think that it’s funny when we (being runners) are like omg I’m so lazy I only worked out twice today…. We are soooooo masochistic, lol. I hate when I am at the gym and end up walking around in a daze–I think that you were right on to cut your losses and come back later. I’m also of the opinion that sometimes that malaise is the result of not having something pressing you to HAVE to get your workout in AT THAT MOMENT. Like the fact that you were able to come back.
    PS, that rope machine thing might be the end of me. I have a hard enough time with the rower, because all I have is my music. I can’t imagine how lllloooonnnnggggggggg time on the rope machine would seem. Soon enough, though, we will be both be out there on the streets again. And you know what? Thank god it will be warmer (I hope) by then!

    1. Yep, I agree, we runners are a crazy bunch! I actually liked doing 2 gym sessions in a day because it took me back to my serious training days when I was doing double days a couple days a week. And even though I wasn’t working all that hard or doing all that much, it still gave me that hardcore feeling I’ve been missing. My only hope about returning to running outside at this point is that I get to enjoy the nice cool spring weather before the oppressive DC humidity kicks in. But at this point, I’ll take what I can get! 🙂

Leave a Reply

