Karma

I’ve said a couple of times since my surgery that even though I’m definitely over the winter weather, the snow doesn’t bother me too much.  It’s easier for me to deal with the cold crappy weather than with perfect gorgeous running weather.  We’ve had a few of those days and every time, every.single.person who lives within a 15 mile radius of me is out running in my neighborhood.  No really, they drive from their house to mine just to show off the fact that they can run.  Great!  Good for you having two unbroken feet to run on!  Even people who’ve never run before or plan to run again have been out running the last couple weeks.  Everyone everywhere has taken up running just to spite me!  Okay, not really, but on those days when the weather is nice and the paths are packed, it feels that way.  So like I said, I was okay with some cold weather so I’m not lonely at the gym.

Well, joke’s on me.  I woke up this morning to freezing temps and oh so lovely frozen front steps and sidewalk.  With Lawrence out of town until tonight, I had no choice but to brave the ice to get the kids to school.  Crutches + ice = no bueno.  Is this karma?  As I stood at the top of the steps of death considering how badly I’d hurt myself if I fell and which body part would be the best to sacrifice, I decided I was wrong.  It’s time for the cold to go.  As my penance, I promise not to throw cans (full or empty) out of my car window at all of those people fortunate enough to be taking advantage of the gorgeous running weather.  And I will stop being bitter try to be less bitter about it.  My neighborhood is again a safe place to run!

Whew, glad I got that off my chest.  Yesterday was really kind of a crappy day all around.  I should’ve known with the snow at the end of March that it would be.  Remember when I said I needed to let it go?   Yeah, well, yesterday I didn’t.  Nope, I rolled around and wallowed in that crap.  The woe is me!  Why did this happen?  When will it end??  And let me tell you, that’s not a fun way to spend the day.  So I’m just going to try to put that behind me and start fresh today.

Today marks 4 weeks from surgery.  4 weeks on crutches.  4 weeks of healing.  I knew this wasn’t going to be a quick fix so I’m not sure why this frustration hit.  I really couldn’t have asked for things to go any better than the way they have.  The surgery was easy and almost completely pain free.  According to my doctor and as far as I can tell, I’m healing exactly as I should.  I just need to trust the process.

letgo

So back to the gym I go for more rope pulling.  Then I’m getting my hair done.  Then Lawrence is coming home.  Today’s a good day.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. SuzLyfe says:

    We are in this together–you healing from surgery, me healing from a hamstring strain (and now my soleus at the insertion point acting like a b). We stopped running the same weekend, and I can concur that it is way easier to deal with lack of running when the weather blows. But now it’s starting to look nicer and nicer… WHY BODY. I am not looking forward to getting back in shape, either. Just know that I am right there with you. We will heal. We will run. It. Will happen. It. Has to.

    1. Funny you mention hamstring strain. I also strained my hamstring during this foot debacle, I’m sure from overcompensating for the pain in my foot. I just read this article on hamstring strains and their high re-occurrence rate. http://running.competitor.com/2014/03/photos/best-ways-treat-hamstring-injuries_97314. I’ve been totally off mine for 4 weeks and can STILL feel that it’s not 100%. But it was interesting because I did exactly what they said NOT to do. I did a lot of pool running in October to relieve the pounding on my foot and because of that probably caused the second hamstring strain by not focusing on strengthening it. Training is definitely a learning process! The positive thing about injury is that it gives you time to focus on strengthening other areas that were being neglected which I think can only be a good thing once we start running again. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

