Getting the boot

The day has come.  I’m back in the boot.  I remember how upset I was when I got put in the boot back in July.  There were tears… a lot of them.  Funny how perspective changes.  I’m so glad to be in the boot now.  It means I’ve reached another milestone in recovery.  In fact, Lawrence and I went out to dinner last night to prematurely celebrate with some Mexican food and a margarita.

The appointment this morning started out with getting cast #3 cut off.

cast4

After cutting off all the padding and cleaning up my leg a little, I was left with this.

foot2

Ignore my gross hairy leg.  That’s what 6 weeks in a cast will get you.

And here’s a side by side comparison of the incision

foot1foot2

Picture on the left is just under 4 weeks from surgery and picture on the right is just over 6 weeks from surgery.  My foot is a little less bruised and swollen and the incision is a little more healed now.  My doctor took x-rays and said everything looks beautiful and now it’s just time to start adding weight.  I’m supposed to add 10% of my body weight every day until I’m fully weight bearing again.  And depending on how it goes, it will take between 7-14 days.  I’ve been cleared to spin in the saddle with very light resistance.  I won’t try that for another week but it’s nice to know that I have another option as far as cardio goes.  And I should start moving around my ankle to get mobility back.  It’s going to feel weird to go to bed with nothing on my foot for the first time in over 6 weeks!

The first thing I did when I got home was scrub my leg with a loofah to get all the dead skin off.  And then I got rid of 6 weeks worth of hair growth which made Lawrence a very happy man.

While I’m happy to be out of the cast, a bigger milestone for me will be getting rid of the crutches for good.  It will make life SO much easier.  I’m so glad I’m almost there.  And I’m glad that spring break is here.  I’m ready for a change of scenery and a break in our routine.  And once the kids get back in school, I’ll be walking again!  So.excited.

Leave a Reply

