Managing expectations

The last few days have been interesting.  I’m not sure what I thought it would be like to return to weight bearing, but I’m pretty sure I didn’t think it would be like this.  I guess I’m just surprised by the pain.  I mean, it’s not horrible or anything but it definitely doesn’t feel good to put a lot of weight on my foot… which is, I guess, why they have the 10% rule and don’t tell you to go running the second you get out of a cast.  Today is day 4 in the boot so I’m supposed to be at 40% body weight although I have no idea how you’re really supposed to know how much weight that is.  I’ve pretty much let pain be my guide.  If it hurts, I ease up until it doesn’t and I think I’m probably at least close to where I should be.  Lawrence has been dealing with my crazy like a champ.  I swing from despair (Why oh why did I have that surgery?  It was the worst decision ever!  I wasn’t in any pain walking before and now everything hurts.  I’ll never run again!) to being optimistic (okay, it feels pretty good right now.  It definitely feels better than it did Friday so I know it’s improving every day.  I know I made the right decision.  I can’t wait to run pain free again!) about every 30 minutes.  But I think if I’m honest with myself, everything is going the way it should.  Things are improving, my range of motion is much better after just 3 days.  If I’m just patient and listen to the doctor, I think I’ll be good to go.  I also broke out my old friend, the Exogen machine.

exogen

I got it back in August.  It’s an ultrasound bone stimulator that’s supposed to help bones heal better and faster.  I’m not sure how much it actually helps.  But I have the thing, insurance paid for it, and my doctor told me to use it, so why not.  I strap it on twice a day for 20 minutes and hopefully it’s doing something.

We had a pretty good and productive weekend.   Saturday we spent a few hours outside at soccer games by the lake.

soccer

I put on sunscreen but still managed to get a little too much sun.  It was so nice sitting outside in a tank top after such a loooooooooooooong cold winter.  After the game, we met up with friends and braved Red Robin with 5 adults and 7 children.  It was loud to say the least but the bottomless fries are worth it.  From there, we headed to our friends house.  The kids played and watched a movie while the adults hung out on the deck.  We got on the subject of houses and they mentioned that the house next door was going to go on the market soon.  By the end of the evening, I was ready to put an offer on it.  Of course, I’ve never been in it or anything but what I’ve realized over the last 9 years of living in our current house is how important neighborhood is.  I really like our neighborhood and I want to make sure when we find another house, we have great neighbors.  Lawrence was unconvinced so I don’t know that we have a move in our immediate future but I’m working on it.

We had a change of our spring break plans and aren’t heading out of town anymore.  It turned out to be for the best because after all that talk of moving, we realized we really needed to buckle down and finish up the projects we have going on in this house.  So over the next couple of days, we’ll be working on getting all the baseboards installed and painted, crown molding up, closet doors installed, etc.  All those things we’d been putting off.  If we ever do find a house we want, it would be nice to not have ten thousand things we need to do to get this house on the market.  But again, I’m getting ahead of myself.  For now, we just need to get the house put back together.

Last night after Lawrence and Brendan spent a lot of the day working in the yard, we sat out back and enjoyed margaritas on the deck.

lanterns

I really hope we get many more nights like that before the humidity descends on northern Virginia.

And now back to painting, it’s been a while since I’ve pulled out a paintbrush so we’ll see how it goes.

Happy Monday!

One Comment Add yours

  1. Love the lights on the tree. So pretty! Are you coming for Easter?

Leave a Reply

