8 Week Stats

The last two weeks actually went by really quickly and it’s time for another stat update.

4 week stats

6 week stats

Stats 6 weeks from surgery:

Weight: 138

Thigh measurement (measured at 5″ above the kneecap):  Left- 17″  Right- 16″

Calf measurement (widest part of calf): Left 13.5″  Right- 12 3/4″

Cast/boot/brace?: Boot

Weight bearing?: 100% weight bearing in the boot

Pain?:  When I first got out of the cast, I could barely get my foot in the boot because it hurt to point my toe and put pressure on my foot to get it down into the boot.  It also hurt to put much weight on it.  It took me about 6 days to get back to weight bearing again, so I’ve been without crutches for a week now.  Every day my foot feels a little better and I’m now at the point where I can walk in the boot with no pain.  At night after I take off my boot, I’ll walk to the bathroom (slowly and carefully) and it still hurts to walk on it.  Sometimes that frustrates me and makes me wonder if it’ll ever feel normal again and sometimes I realize that it’s all part of the process and I just need to be patient with it.  Sometimes when I’m doing ankle circles to work on mobility it feels like the joint that he fixed “catches” and I have pain for a second before it unlocks.  Again, I wonder if this is “normal” healing or something to be concerned about.  My next appointment is tomorrow so I’ll definitely ask him about it.

Exercise Routine: 4-6 days/week, week 7 I was still on the rope pull machine, but this week, I’ve been doing cardio on the stationary bike, low resistance in the saddle.  My shoulder has been sore for the last few days, so I’m not doing any upper body for the time being.  I did add in some light lower body weights to get my quads/hamstrings/calves working again.

Rehab:  I’ll hopefully start actual rehab next week.  I’ve been doing a lot of ankle mobility work when I take my boot off at night but that’s about it.  I’ve also been using my bone stimulator twice a day.  Hopefully my x-rays tomorrow will look good.

Diet: Last week with spring break my diet suffered.  Strangely enough, my stomach has actually been feeling better.  I’m still off soda but mostly back to my normal coffee drinking habits.

Supplements: Two to three times a day: a calcium,magnesium, zinc, vitamin D multi.

State of mind:  Sometimes positive and sometimes very pessimistic.  Even though it continues to feel better and better, it’s not close to feeling “normal” again whatever that means.  The continuous forward progress makes me think I’m being ridiculous but I can’t help but be apprehensive after the road I’ve been on.  While my doctor made this surgery sound like a sure thing for me, nothing in life is certain and until I’m fully healed I just don’t know what it will be like to run on it.

I’m keeping my fingers crossed that everything looks good enough tomorrow that he’ll free me from the boot and clear me to walk.  The weather’s been so beautiful that I’ve been dying to get to the lake even if it’s just to do some walking.  But if that’s not the case, I guess I’ll get another 2 weeks to work on my patience.

The last couple of nights we’ve gotten a lot of the trim work done.  I think trim is one of my least favorite things.  It’s a lot of tedious work but not much of a transformation.  It looks marginally different after I paint from before.  But takes a lot of prep work: wood filler, sanding, wiping, and taping.  But it’s one of the things that’s needed to get done.  Lawrence finished installing it and yesterday, I finished filling all the holes and taping them all off.  Today they’ll get two coats of paint and then I can cross that off my list which is a huge relief.  It’s one of those projects that really doesn’t take long but I just don’t like to do it, so I’m glad we bit the bullet and got it over with.

Once we finish up the trim, the next big project is the staircase.  We’ll be staining our own treads and painting the risers white.  If you check out this blog post, you can see what we’re going for.  Luckily there are a lot of tutorials and success stories on the web so I feel confident tackling it.  Will there ever come a day when we don’t have a big project on the to-do list?  I doubt it.  🙂

Leave a Reply

