The difference of a week

It’s funny how much difference a week can make.  I don’t know if it’s the relief of actually seeing the healthy intact bone on the x-ray or the pt and chiropractor appointments I’ve had or if it’s just the extra time, but this week, my foot is feeling so much better.  I still have pain, but instead of feeling depressed and like it’ll never heal, I’m feeling optimistic that sometime in the near future, I’ll be back to normal.  And for the first time in over a year, I’ll be able to walk/run/skip or whatever else I feel like doing without pain on a healthy foot.

On mother’s day, the whole family went out for a run around the lake by our house.  It’s just under 2 miles around.  We did a 1 minute walk/1 minute run to the playground which is 1 mile into the run.  I stayed with the 3 younger ones, threw a football and watched them swing while Lawrence and Brendan did another loop.  When they got back to the playground, we all did another mile walk/run back home.   They did awesome.  Lauren asked why the 1 minute run took so much longer than the 1 minute walk.  My feelings exactly.  When we finished she said she was never running again.

laurenrun

2 miles is a long way to go.

Sean was a trooper too.  And had enough energy left at the end to make some wishes.

wishes

And pick some for me too.

wishes1

I also got to try out my new toy for the first time.  I finally upgraded from the Garmin 305 to the Garmin 220.

shamrock

That me in 2007.  That is one huge watch.

And it still works great!  Garmin knows what it’s doing.  But since I work at a running store and all, I decided it was time to upgrade to something that doesn’t look like I have a 1984 computer strapped to my wrist.  It’ll still come in handy as a back up but I’m pretty excited about the new watch.

Garmin-Forerunner-220

Now it’s still a big watch but that’s just the way it goes if you want GPS and I definitely love me some GPS.  It also has some fun capabilities that we were playing with.  If I carry my cell phone, Lawrence can watch my run from a Garmin link in real time.  That is SUPER handy for long races.  Would’ve been nice to have this during my first marathon when I was an HOUR off pace.  Yep, an hour.  Made for an interesting day for my spectators who were positive they’d missed me when in fact, nope, I was just crawling along wanting to cut my own legs off.  We also played with the walk/run setting.  I set each interval and then it beeps and vibrates when it’s time to change.  It was really useful in a group setting.  Instead of me constantly checking my watch and yelling out things, everyone just waited for the beep.  Handy.

After we finished the run, I came in and iced while Lawrence took the kids for slurpees.  After that we headed to the driving range to hit some balls and I was pleasantly surprised (and ecstatic) that I could still walk.  Running didn’t incapacitate me for the rest of the day!  And when I got up the next morning, I still felt great.  Hallelujah!

I’ve been pretty active this week.  A little running but mostly cross training in the form of elliptical and stair mill.  I also went back to my weight class yesterday for the first time since February.  It feels good to be moving again.  I wasn’t sure how my foot would feel during the squat and lunge portions but it actually felt fine.  A little stiff but no pain.  Right now, I’m slowly easing into running again with the blessing of my health care team (ha!  I see so many people now, it’s getting ridiculous) but my main focus is getting my right side as strong as my left.  Which mean a whole lot of single leg exercises.  I’m also planning to add yoga back into the mix starting today because it is such a great way to work on balance and single leg strength.

So that’s where I’m at right now.  I have good days and bad ones.  I try not to get too excited on the good days or too down on the bad ones.  This is all a process.  But it definitely feels good to feel a little more like my old sweaty self again.  And now off to do some more intervals.  Slow and steady wins the race.

Leave a Reply

