Week 12, it gets better

Well, I think week 12 is the charm.  Week 10 was probably the low point in this process.  So that’s good to know for future reference.  In case there was any question about surgery being a quick fix, it’s not.  Not even a little bit.  It’s a long slow process.  It’s frustration inducing and patience building.  But it does get better… eventually.

Yesterday, Lawrence and I took advantage of the near perfect running weather and headed out to do my intervals.  He’s been a good sport about it.  On mother’s day he did my 1 minute run/1 minute walk intervals with me and yesterday we moved up to a 2 minute run/1 minute walk.  I’m not going to lie, the first interval was the longest 2 minutes of my life.  It kind of left me wondering how I ever ran any sort of distance at all.  But then I checked myself.  Comparing myself now to myself before is pretty useless.  For now, I’m just happy I can finally do any running.  And yesterday it actually felt good.  I really concentrated on my form during each interval.  I’m working on not over striding, getting my cadence up and landing midfoot under my hips instead of heal striking way out in front of me.  It’s a lot to think about so 2 minute intervals are a nice way to break it all up.  I’ll do 2 more days of that this week (with cross training in between) and then next weekend I’ll move up to my “long run.”  Same amount of running time-wise, but the running intervals will be longer.  Instead of 2 minute run/1 minute walk x 10, I’ll be doing 5 minute run / 2:30 walk x 4.  I’ve never ramped up this slowly before.  Usually I’m a total spazz and head out for 6 miles after a 6 month running hiatus.  Well, I know where that road always leads me so this time I’m trying something different and hoping it’ll making me a stronger healthier runner.

I’m also being really good about doing my exercises.  I’m really focusing on balance and strength for that right leg.  Which means a lot of wobble board stuff and a lot of one leg exercises (calf raises, lunges, squats, etc.)  After a week of that, my right side is pretty sore.  I do all the exercises on my left side too (gotta stay balanced!) but that side is used to the work load.  All in all, I’m pretty happy with where I am today.  This morning my foot was sore (as it is every morning) and I wish that would go away, but aside from that, I feel good.  The thing that keeps me going when I don’t feel like doing my exercises or when the thought of more cross training makes me want to cry is visualize myself crossing the next finish line.  All the work, all the pain, all the frustration and disappointment, they’ll all be worth it in that moment.  I’ll be on the elliptical thinking about it and tear up.  I can only imagine the blubbery mess I’ll be when that day actually comes.

Today I’m heading to spin class and then coming home to wash floors.  That’s probably a good cardio workout. 🙂

Leave a Reply

