A couple 5k pictures and Halloween

I really need to be more aware of photographers when I’m racing.

MonsterMash1

Why yes, this 11 year old did pass me right before the finish line.

MonsterMash

And no, I didn’t want to hurt him.  That is my, “holy cow this hurts, I never want to run another 5k” face.  But I’m sure his parents were yelling, “Run faster son! Don’t let that really mad, mean looking, sweaty woman catch you!”

In any case, I have my work cut out for me.  I ran a 21:08 at the Monster Mash and hope to run under 20:30 at the turkey trot I’m doing.  Luckily, I’m not afraid of the work.  There are some workouts that scare me because I’m not sure that I’m capable of doing them, but I’m not afraid of the work part.  Or the pain.  I know it’s said all the time, but running is such a mental sport.  And the mental aspect needs to be practiced as much as the physical part.  The workouts that are hard, where I question my ability, are the ones where I get to put my mind to work.  Work on quieting the little voice in my head that says I can’t do it.  We all have that voice, from the fastest to the slowest runner, it’s just a matter of saying, “yes I can” and pushing on.  That’s where I’m at this week.  My Saturday workout has me nervous.  22 minute warm up, 30 minute 6:50-7:05 pace, 22 minute cool down.  I’m not sure I can run that pace for 30 minutes.  But when in doubt, I look at what I’ve done in the last few weeks.  Last week I did 4 x 5:00 at 6:35-6:42 pace.  A few weeks ago, I did a 10 miler where my tempo miles were: 7:13, 7:10, 7:20, 7:04, 7:13, 7:23, 7:05.  Am I capable of doing this workout?  Yes.  I can do it.  But I’ll be glad when it’s behind me.

Moving on to other things, the kids had a great time trick or treating on Friday… well, except for Lauren.  Poor Lauren had to stay home from school because she wasn’t feeling well.  What an awful day to be sick!  She wasn’t running a fever, just didn’t feel well, so when she asked if she could still trick or treat and I told her as long as she felt well enough, she could.  She made it 10 minutes before she was home wanting to lie down.  She changed into her pj’s and we read a book while my mother in law handed out candy.  The next morning, she woke up feeling totally fine and back to normal.  Of course.  Luckily, the boys got enough candy for a small army.  Between their candy and all the candy we didn’t hand out (it didn’t seem like we got as many kids this year) Lauren still got plenty.

DSC_8979

Lauren as Maleficent, Ryan’s in the hockey mask and Sean’s a zombie.  I kind of miss when I picked their costumes…

babybrendan

Anyway…

DSC_8988

Brendan dressed up as Freddy this year.  Which was funny since he sent me a text ON HALLOWEEN saying:

B: Hey do we have a white sweater and a orange ascot at home?

Me: What’s an ascot?

B: Ima be Freddy for Halloween.

Me: He doesn’t wear a white sweater, he wears and blue and red striped one and I actually think you have one of those.

Apparently he meant THIS Freddy:

freddy

Not this one:

freddy1

The ascot is now making more sense.  In any case, Lawrence found Brendan a white shirt at Target, he fashioned an ascot out of a red t-shirt and everything worked out.  Phew.

 DSC_8981

All set to head out with Grandpa and Lawrence.  (Except for Brendan who got dropped off at the Robinson football game.)

And a couple of pictures of the boys with their candy.

DSC_8992DSC_8996

Good times.

Leave a Reply

