Family Pictures and Mount Vernon

I’m not really sure how we got to Thanksgiving week so quickly.  I feel like school just started and now it’s Thanksgiving.  Which means tomorrow it will be Christmas so I better get my act together!

In a rare moment of getting on the ball, we took Christmas card pictures over the weekend, ordered the cards, and have them all ready to mail out.  This is a totally uncharacteristic move on my part.  In fact, I was so not on the ball the last two years that I didn’t actually get cards out.  I think getting cards out every few years is a good goal to shoot for.  I like to keep expectations low. 😉

DSC_9361a

I thought when we went to this park to take pictures, we were being super original, but as there were no less than 15 other families getting pictures done there at the same time, I guess not so much.

DSC_9370

We took all the pictures ourselves and I think my goal for the next year will be to learn how to use my camera.  I usually shoot in auto because I’m worried that I’ll use the wrong settings and my pictures will be ruined (it’s happened before).  But I guess it’s time to get over it because the pictures really do turn out nicer in manual mode.  Shocking.

DSC_9231

I also need to figure out the best lighting for pictures.  Like maybe squinting into the sun was not the best option.  Hmmmm.

DSC_9205

Oh well.  Live and learn.  We got a couple nice shots so at least we achieved our goal and don’t have to do it again this weekend.  Because I’m pretty sure the kids (and Lawrence) would’ve revolted.  I’m not really sure why they didn’t want to hang out in the cold posing for an hour while we yelled at them not to run around and get all dirty until we were finished.  Sounds like a fun afternoon to me!  They were rewarded with a trip to 7-11 for their patience.  That’s right, I’m not above bribing my children.  I’m that mom.

Before the photo shoot we spent the morning with the cub scouts at Mount Vernon.

DSC_9125

George Washington knew what he was doing when he chose that spot.  It’s breathtakingly beautiful.

DSC_9123

Lauren was maybe a little less impressed with the experience.

DSC_9129

I don’t know where she got that look.

DSC_8749

Although after the tour of the mansion, we did find something that got her excited.

DSC_9146

That girl loves her animals.  Luckily it was a very tolerant sheep.

So that was how we spent our weekend.  Sunday morning Lawrence and I got up and went for a run.  It got a little dicey when Lawrence started to speed up and I wanted to keep the run nice and easy.  There may have been some cursing.  And threats.  But even so, I’m always glad when he runs with me.  Running is better with someone else.

And in other unrelated news….

brendanswim

Brendan made the high school swim team!  We were really excited for him and went out to dinner to celebrate.  Lawrence and I went to a really small private high school.  You didn’t really have to try out for sports, you just joined.  It was no where near as competitive as the public high schools here.  So we’re extremely proud of the hard work he’s put in and can’t wait to go to the meets.

So that’s about it.  We have snow in the forecast and I’m hoping the turkey trot doesn’t get cancelled.  And I’m looking forward to all the yummy food at my in-laws house after the race.  I have a lot to be thankful for this year!

Leave a Reply

